Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)

[commercial]

biometric · food-service · 1 deployments in catalog

Field Advisory

FDA clearances: ECG App: FDA 510(k) K221774, decision Jan 12 2023, launched Jan 24 2023 on the Venu 2 Plus (Garmin's first FDA-cleared feature; on-demand 30-sec ECG for signs of AFib). Later expanded by software to epix Pro, Fenix 7 Pro, Venu 3, Fenix 8., CAP-FLAG (most of Garmin's AI is wellness): Pulse Ox/SpO2, Body Battery, Training Readiness, stress, Sleep Score are WELLNESS features, NOT FDA-cleared. Body Battery in particular is a proprietary composite, not a validated clinical metric. Garmin is lighter on FDA-cleared clinical AI than Apple/Fitbit (one cleared feature: ECG)., Model framing (the purchase-only outlier): Garmin is fundamentally PURCHASE-ONLY: all core health/training features are free, no required membership. The newer Garmin Connect+ ($6.99/mo or $69.99/yr, launched Mar 27 2025) is OPTIONAL and adds AI 'Active Intelligence' insights + coaching content; it does NOT gate existing features. The outlier vs Whoop (subscription-only) / Oura (required membership)., Verification posture: Boundary: biometric-primary + AI-augmented. Clinical posture: lighter on FDA-cleared clinical AI (one cleared feature); strong SENSOR hardware but recovery/training metrics are proprietary, largely NOT peer-validated as clinical instruments. NOT verified: Body Battery / Training Readiness accuracy (proprietary, no clearance); 2026-model specifics.

Manufacturer

Garmin

Form Factor

biometric

Lifecycle

commercial

Operational Reality

Audited

Deployments

1

Target Price

$849 to $2K (actual sale price)

  • COMMERCIAL

Description

Garmin (NASDAQ: GRMN; founded 1989 by Gary Burrell and Min Kao) makes biometric-primary multisport watches such as the Venu 3, Fenix 8, and Forerunner 965 with AI augmentation, recorded in the new biometric form factor. Its devices carry optical heart-rate, blood-oxygen, ECG on select models, and skin-temperature sensors, and layer proprietary analytics including Body Battery, Training Load and Training Readiness, advanced sleep tracking with a Sleep Score and coach, all-day stress, and HRV Status. Its one FDA clearance is the ECG App, cleared via 510(k) K221774 with a decision dated January 12, 2023 and launched on January 24, 2023 on the Venu 2 Plus as Garmin's first FDA-cleared feature for on-demand assessment of signs of atrial fibrillation, later expanded by software to other models. A cap-flag applies because most of Garmin's analytics, including blood oxygen, Body Battery, Training Readiness, stress, and Sleep Score, are wellness features rather than FDA-cleared, with Body Battery in particular a proprietary composite rather than a validated clinical metric, making Garmin lighter on FDA-cleared clinical AI than Apple or Fitbit. Garmin is the purchase-only outlier of the cohort: all core health and training features are free with no required membership, and the newer Garmin Connect+ subscription launched March 27, 2025 at $6.99 a month is optional, adding AI Active Intelligence insights and coaching content without gating existing features, in contrast to subscription-only Whoop and membership-required Oura. Its clinical-validation posture is lighter on cleared clinical AI with strong sensor hardware but proprietary, largely non-peer-validated recovery and training metrics, and the accuracy of Body Battery and Training Readiness and any 2026-model specifics are not verified.

Key facts & specs

15 entries
website
https://www.garmin.com/en-US/newsroom/press-release/wellness/garmin-ecg-app/
maturity
commercial
lifecycle
active
manufacturer
Garmin
deployments count
1
Maturity stage
commercial
Specs
Venu 3, Fenix 8, Forerunner 965 (+ epix Pro, tactix). Sensors: Elevate optical HR, Pulse Ox (SpO2), ECG (select models), skin temp. AI/health: Body Battery (energy/recovery proxy), Training Load / Training Readiness / recovery-time, advanced sleep + Sleep Score + sleep coach, all-day stress (HRV), HRV Status, Morning Report. Founded 1989 (NASDAQ: GRMN). PURCHASE-ONLY; optional Garmin Connect+ AI subscription ($6.99/mo, Mar 2025) does NOT gate existing features.
Battery
24 days
Weight kg
0.07
Form Factor
biometric (biometric-primary multisport watch + AI augmentation; ECG cleared, rest wellness)
Fda clearance
Source: https://www.garmin.com/en-US/legal/fda/; Status: none; Details: No FDA clearance. ECG available on select models (Venu 2 Plus, Fenix 7 Pro) but NOT FDA-cleared. Wellness/fitness positioning only.; Audited at: 2026-06-07; Source name: Garmin; Health claim: Fitness, outdoor, aviation. Wellness-only; ECG feature exists but lacks FDA clearance for arrhythmia detection.; Verification posture: verified
Sensor suite
Elevate optical HR, Pulse Ox (SpO2), ECG (select models), skin temp
Price
Garmin Connect+ optional subscription $6.99/mo or $69.99/yr, launched Mar 27 2025
Autonomy level
Purchase-only; all core health/training features free, no required membership
Models
Venu 3, Fenix 8, Forerunner 965, epix Pro, tactix

Availability and pricing

price
$849 to $2K (actual sale price) · as of 2024-08-14
lead time
Not disclosed
sales model
Not disclosed
availability
Shipping now
units in field
Not disclosed
pricing Model
Not disclosed

Safety record

Safety Status
Zero incidents on record

No incidents on record for Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner).

Risk Metrics
Incidents: 0
Recalls: 0

FAQ

15 entries
What is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)?

Garmin (NASDAQ: GRMN; founded 1989 by Gary Burrell and Min Kao) makes biometric-primary multisport watches such as the Venu 3, Fenix 8, and Forerunner 965 with AI augmentation, recorded in the new biometric form factor. Its devices carry optical heart-rate, blood-oxygen, ECG on select models, and skin-temperature sensors, and layer proprietary analytics including Body Battery, Training Load and Training Readiness, advanced sleep tracking with a Sleep Score and coach, all-day stress, and HRV Status. Its one FDA clearance is the ECG App, cleared via 510(k) K221774 with a decision dated January 12, 2023 and launched on January 24, 2023 on the Venu 2 Plus as Garmin's first FDA-cleared feature for on-demand assessment of signs of atrial fibrillation, later expanded by software to other models. A cap-flag applies because most of Garmin's analytics, including blood oxygen, Body Battery, Training Readiness, stress, and Sleep Score, are wellness features rather than FDA-cleared, with Body Battery in particular a proprietary composite rather than a validated clinical metric, making Garmin lighter on FDA-cleared clinical AI than Apple or Fitbit. Garmin is the purchase-only outlier of the cohort: all core health and training features are free with no required membership, and the newer Garmin Connect+ subscription launched March 27, 2025 at $6.99 a month is optional, adding AI Active Intelligence insights and coaching content without gating existing features, in contrast to subscription-only Whoop and membership-required Oura. Its clinical-validation posture is lighter on cleared clinical AI with strong sensor hardware but proprietary, largely non-peer-validated recovery and training metrics, and the accuracy of Body Battery and Training Readiness and any 2026-model specifics are not verified.

How much does Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) cost?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) is listed at $849 to $1,699 on the DEPLOY registry. This is an actual sale price on record.

Is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) actually deployed in the real world?

Yes. Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.

Is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) autonomous or teleoperated?

Partly. DEPLOY verifies Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) operating autonomously for Tracks fitness and activity and Tracks sleep. Other capabilities (Tracks heart health and Tracks stress and recovery) are only demonstrated under teleoperation or remain vendor claims, not independently verified as autonomous.

What are the specs of Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)'s recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Battery: 24 days; Weight: 0.07 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.

Who makes Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) is made by Garmin, based in Olathe, KS, founded in 1989.

Where is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) deployed?

1 verified deployment of Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) is on the DEPLOY registry, including at Global.

Can you buy Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) is available for purchase - a real sale price is on record (see the pricing section for the figure and its source).

Is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) FDA cleared?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) has 2 regulatory records on the DEPLOY registry: FDA 510(k) clearance (K221774), cleared; FDA 510(k) clearance (K221774), cleared. See the Regulatory filings section for each agency source.

What are alternatives to Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)?

On the DEPLOY registry, comparable biometric robots to Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) include Blackrock Neuroport Array, BrainQ Non-Invasive BCI, Neko Body Scan, RNS System.

How does Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) compare to Blackrock Neuroport Array?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) and Blackrock Neuroport Array (Blackrock Neurotech · 5 deployments) are both biometric robots on the DEPLOY registry. Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.

Is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) a top biometric?

On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) ranks in roughly the top 62% of biometric models tracked by the registry.

What is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner)'s maturity stage?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.

Is Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) safe?

Garmin (Venu / Fenix / Forerunner) has no incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. This does not constitute a safety guarantee; it reflects the incidents DEPLOY has tracked and verified to date.

What does a Garmin watch track?

Garmin smartwatches track advanced health and fitness metrics including GPS, heart rate, skin temperature, sleep, stress, and sport-specific metrics. Features include a built-in flashlight, bright displays, and wellness tracking. Garmin has FDA-cleared ECG under 510(k) K221774. Known for outdoor and fitness-focused wearables.

Deployments

1 entry

Sectors & applications

1 entry