AI Pin
[commercial]wearable · food-service · 1 deployments in catalog
Verified: Launched Apr 2024 at $499 + $24/mo; screenless, voice-first, laser-projector UI on T-Mobile cellular. Reviews were scathing (The Verge 'not even close'; MKBHD 'worst product I've reviewed... for now'). A CPSC recall covered ~10,500 Charge Cases for a lithium-battery fire hazard., Discontinued (verified): HP acquired Humane's assets (CosmOS software, patents, team) for ~$116M in February 2025; the AI Pin's servers were shut down Feb 28 2025, bricking cloud/cellular features. A limited 90-day refund window applied. The product is non-functional and no longer sold., Claimed (third-party, not Humane-disclosed): Industry estimates of under 10,000 units shipped against a reported 100,000 target, and 'returns outpaced sales,' are journalist/analyst figures (Bloomberg/TechCrunch); Humane never published official sales totals., Honest absence: No official Humane sales figures; the support domain itself is decaying post-shutdown. The registry records this as the canonical capability-claim-vs-verified-execution failure case., Category: AI-native wearable; form_factor=wearable. Cautionary cohort exemplar (commercial product, then discontinued) alongside Limitless (Meta-acquired, hardware ended).
Manufacturer
HumaneForm Factor
wearable
Lifecycle
commercial
Operational Reality
Audited
Deployments
1
Target Price
$24 (actual sale price)
- COMMERCIAL
Description
Humane AI Pin was a wearable AI companion device launched at $199, designed as a smartphone alternative. Discontinued in February 2025 after disappointing reviews and low sales (~10K units). Humane sold its assets to HP for $116M. The AI Pin is no longer functional — service was terminated for all buyers.
Key facts & specs
- website
- https://support.humane.com/hc/en-us/articles/34243204841997-Ai-Pin-Consumers-FAQ
- maturity
- commercial
- lifecycle
- discontinued
- manufacturer
- Humane
- deployments count
- 1
- Maturity stage
- commercial
- Launch
- April 2024 at $499 (plus $24/month subscription); $699 variant
- Battery
- 4 h
- Interface
- voice + laser ink projector (hand-projected display); no screen
- Weight kg
- 0.034
- Form Factor
- wearable (screenless voice-first AI pin, magnetic clip)
- Price
- $199 one-time + $24/month subscription (discontinued; service ended Feb 2025)
- Launch date
- April 2024
- Recall units
- ~10,500 Charge Cases (lithium-battery fire hazard)
- Acquisition price
- ~$116 million (HP acquired Humane assets, February 2025)
- Server shutdown
- February 28, 2025
- Lifecycle state
- discontinued
- Status
- DISCONTINUED — service ended February 2025
- Units sold
- Approximately 10,000 (well below expectations)
- Acquirer
- HP acquired assets for $116M
Availability and pricing
- price
- $24 (actual sale price) · as of 2024-11-01
- lead time
- Not disclosed
- sales model
- Not disclosed
- availability
- Discontinued
- units in field
- Not disclosed
- pricing Model
- Not disclosed
Safety record
1 recall on record (1 serious). Most recent: Jan 2025.
FAQ
What is AI Pin?
Humane AI Pin was a wearable AI companion device launched at $199, designed as a smartphone alternative. Discontinued in February 2025 after disappointing reviews and low sales (~10K units). Humane sold its assets to HP for $116M. The AI Pin is no longer functional — service was terminated for all buyers.
How much does AI Pin cost?
AI Pin is listed at $24 (monthly subscription) on the DEPLOY registry. This is an actual sale price on record.
Is AI Pin actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. AI Pin is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
What are the specs of AI Pin?
AI Pin's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Battery: 4 h; Weight: 0.034 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes AI Pin?
AI Pin is made by Humane, based in San Francisco, CA, founded in 2018.
Where is AI Pin deployed?
1 verified deployment of AI Pin is on the DEPLOY registry, including at San Francisco.
Can you buy AI Pin?
AI Pin is discontinued and no longer sold; its historical record remains on the DEPLOY registry.
What are alternatives to AI Pin?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable wearable robots to AI Pin include Synchron Stentrode, Bee AI Wearable, Bee Pioneer, Esper Hand.
How does AI Pin compare to Synchron Stentrode?
AI Pin and Synchron Stentrode (Synchron · 5 deployments) are both wearable robots on the DEPLOY registry. AI Pin has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is AI Pin a top wearable?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, AI Pin ranks in roughly the top 74% of wearable models tracked by the registry.
What is AI Pin's maturity stage?
AI Pin is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.
Is AI Pin still being made?
AI Pin is discontinued: the product line is permanently ceased; historical records remain on the registry.
Is AI Pin safe?
AI Pin has 1 active incident on record in the DEPLOY registry. 1 recall on record (1 serious). Most recent: Jan 2025. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
What happened to the Humane AI Pin?
Humane discontinued sales of its $499 AI Pin in February 2025. HP bought Humane's assets for $116M. On February 28, 2025, AI Pins stopped connecting to Humane's servers, rendering the devices non-functional. The product was one of the most high-profile wearable AI failures.