Maestro
[pilot]surgical · food-service · 1 deployments in catalog
Verified: Moon Surgical (private; Paris + San Carlos CA; CEO Anne Osdoit; board chair Fred Moll, Intuitive co-founder; backers Sofinnova + NVentures/NVIDIA) makes Maestro, a laparoscopic surgical-ASSISTANT/collaboration robot (holds/positions instruments alongside the surgeon, not a full teleop console). Commercial Maestro FDA 510(k)-cleared Jun 5 2024 (K240598); >1,100 patients treated across US + Europe (company-stated). ~$90M+ raised., AI-substance: genuine SHIPPED AI (notable): ScoPilot is a genuine SHIPPED, FDA-cleared AI feature (intraoperative scope control via NVIDIA Holoscan), with a PCCP - not merely demonstrated. This distinguishes Maestro from the teleop-only platforms in this cohort. Maestro itself is a collaborative/assist robot (an honest distinction from full master-slave teleop)., CORRECTION (pathway): Maestro went the 510(k) route (K240598), NOT de novo (the dispatch hypothesized de novo). De novo around that time was Virtual Incision/MIRA and MMI/Symani - different companies., Claimed but NOT verified: CE mark status/date (unverified this pass); exact installed-system count; the 'industry's first AI on a commercial surgical robot' superlative (marketing); the >1,100-patients figure (company-sourced).
Manufacturer
Moon SurgicalForm Factor
surgical
Lifecycle
pilot
Operational Reality
Audited
Deployments
1
Target Price
$300K to $800K (analyst estimate)
- SURGICAL
- PILOT
Description
Moon Surgical (private, with offices in Paris and San Carlos, California; led by CEO Anne Osdoit, with Intuitive Surgical co-founder Fred Moll as board chair and backers including Sofinnova Partners and NVIDIA's venture arm NVentures) makes Maestro, a laparoscopic surgical-assistant and collaboration robot that holds and positions instruments and the endoscope alongside the surgeon rather than acting as a full master-slave teleoperation console, targeting the large pool of soft-tissue procedures unserved by teleoperated robots. The commercial Maestro received FDA 510(k) clearance under K240598 on June 5, 2024, and the company reports more than 1,100 patients treated across the US and Europe, on roughly $90 million-plus in funding. A notable AI distinction in this cohort: Maestro's ScoPilot is a genuinely shipped, FDA-cleared AI feature for intraoperative scope control, powered by NVIDIA Holoscan and cleared with a Predetermined Change Control Plan, rather than a mere demonstration, which sets Maestro apart from the teleoperation-only platforms here. A pathway correction worth recording: Maestro went the 510(k) route under K240598, not the de novo route sometimes assumed, with the contemporaneous de novo authorizations belonging to different companies such as Virtual Incision and MMI. The registry records Maestro at commercial maturity, an early-commercial collaborative-assist robot past its gating event, while noting that its CE mark status, exact installed-system count, and the more-than-1,100-patients figure are not independently verified.
Key facts & specs
- website
- https://r2surgical.com/blogs/news/how-much-is-a-surgical-robot-2025-edition
- maturity
- pilot
- lifecycle
- active
- manufacturer
- Moon Surgical
- deployments count
- 1
- Maturity stage
- pilot
- Console
- not a full master-slave teleoperation console
- Products
- Maestro: a laparoscopic surgical-assistant platform (holds/positions instruments + endoscope alongside the surgeon). ScoPilot: shipped AI software (NVIDIA Holoscan-powered) for intraoperative scope control. Commercial Maestro FDA 510(k) K240598 cleared Jun 5 2024; ScoPilot FDA-cleared 2025 with a Predetermined Change Control Plan (PCCP).
- Form Factor
- surgical (laparoscopic surgical-assistant / collaboration robot: holds + positions instruments alongside the surgeon; not full master-slave teleop)
- Fda clearance
- FDA 510(k) clearance under K240598 on June 5, 2024
- Clearance body
- FDA
- Procedure types
- laparoscopic
- Patients treated
- More than 1,100 across US and Europe (company-stated, not independently verified)
- Funding
- Approximately $90 million-plus raised
- A I feature
- ScoPilot: shipped, FDA-cleared AI for intraoperative scope control, powered by NVIDIA Holoscan with a Predetermined Change Control Plan
Availability and pricing
- price
- $300K to $800K (analyst estimate) · as of 2025-01-01
- lead time
- Not disclosed
- sales model
- Not disclosed
- availability
- Not sold (internal use)
- units in field
- Not disclosed
- pricing Model
- Not disclosed
Safety record
No incidents on record for Maestro.
FAQ
What is Maestro?
Moon Surgical (private, with offices in Paris and San Carlos, California; led by CEO Anne Osdoit, with Intuitive Surgical co-founder Fred Moll as board chair and backers including Sofinnova Partners and NVIDIA's venture arm NVentures) makes Maestro, a laparoscopic surgical-assistant and collaboration robot that holds and positions instruments and the endoscope alongside the surgeon rather than acting as a full master-slave teleoperation console, targeting the large pool of soft-tissue procedures unserved by teleoperated robots. The commercial Maestro received FDA 510(k) clearance under K240598 on June 5, 2024, and the company reports more than 1,100 patients treated across the US and Europe, on roughly $90 million-plus in funding. A notable AI distinction in this cohort: Maestro's ScoPilot is a genuinely shipped, FDA-cleared AI feature for intraoperative scope control, powered by NVIDIA Holoscan and cleared with a Predetermined Change Control Plan, rather than a mere demonstration, which sets Maestro apart from the teleoperation-only platforms here. A pathway correction worth recording: Maestro went the 510(k) route under K240598, not the de novo route sometimes assumed, with the contemporaneous de novo authorizations belonging to different companies such as Virtual Incision and MMI. The registry records Maestro at commercial maturity, an early-commercial collaborative-assist robot past its gating event, while noting that its CE mark status, exact installed-system count, and the more-than-1,100-patients figure are not independently verified.
How much does Maestro cost?
Maestro is listed at $300,000 to $800,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is an analyst estimate, not an official price.
Is Maestro actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Maestro is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is Maestro autonomous or teleoperated?
Not verified as fully autonomous. Maestro's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (Assists surgery), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.
Who makes Maestro?
Maestro is made by Moon Surgical, based in San Carlos, California, USA, founded in 2020.
Where is Maestro deployed?
1 verified deployment of Maestro is on the DEPLOY registry, including at Jacksonville.
Can you buy Maestro?
Maestro is in pilot deployments with named customers and is not yet broadly for sale.
Is Maestro FDA cleared?
Maestro has 3 regulatory records on the DEPLOY registry: FDA 510(k) clearance, cleared; FDA 510(k) clearance (K240598), cleared; FDA 510(k) clearance (K240598), cleared. See the Regulatory filings section for each agency source.
What are alternatives to Maestro?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable surgical robots to Maestro include da Vinci (and Ion), Edge Multi-Port Surgical Robot, Edison Histotripsy System, Stryker Mako SmartRobotics.
How does Maestro compare to da Vinci (and Ion)?
Maestro and da Vinci (and Ion) (Intuitive Surgical · 15 deployments) are both surgical robots on the DEPLOY registry. Maestro has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Maestro a top surgical?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Maestro ranks in roughly the top 54% of surgical models tracked by the registry.
What is Maestro's maturity stage?
Maestro is at the pilot stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Pilot stage means at least one named-customer trial deployment is verified.
Is Maestro safe?
Maestro has no incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. This does not constitute a safety guarantee; it reflects the incidents DEPLOY has tracked and verified to date.