Adam

[research]

humanoid · humanoids · 0 deployments in catalog

Field Advisory

Verified: PNDbotics (founded 2023; HQ Beijing/Haidian, with a Ningbo subsidiary) is a full-stack humanoid startup developing its own PSA quasi-direct-drive actuators, control unit (RCU), and BMS. The Adam humanoid appeared at CES, WAIC 2025, and on CGTN's 2026 Spring Festival Gala; an Apr 2026 video showed outdoor stair navigation. Adam is sold/pre-ordered primarily as a developer/research platform to labs., Maturity = research: Public evidence is demos (music/conducting, dance, stairs, gala) = STATED capability claims; Adam is sold as a dev/research kit, not deployed at customers. The Tianyong Engineering automotive 'deployment' is forward-looking intent ('will integrate'), no units/sites/dates. No third-party customer runs Adam in production. maturityStage=research (commercial signal is dev-kit sales, not operational deployment)., Claimed but NOT verified: Any operational/production deployment (Tianyong is intent-only); exact funding ('tens of millions'); a Tianjin plant producing 'hundreds of units annually' (plan, not output); demo capabilities (autonomous conducting, untethered stair reliability) as repeatable field performance; a single canonical named founder (not consistently sourced in English); spec consistency across variants (25-43 DoF / 60-63 kg vary by source).

Manufacturer

PNDbotics

Form Factor

humanoid

Lifecycle

research

Operational Reality

Audited

Deployments

0

Target Price

$45K (manufacturer target)

  • HUMANOID
  • RESEARCH

Description

PNDbotics (founded 2023, headquartered in Beijing's Haidian district with a registered subsidiary in Ningbo) is a full-stack humanoid startup that develops its own PSA quasi-direct-drive actuators, robot control unit, and battery management system. Its Adam humanoid stands about 1.6 to 1.67 m and 60 to 63 kg and comes in several variants, including Adam Lite at about 25 degrees of freedom, the roughly 41-to-43-degree-of-freedom Adam and Adam SP, the teleoperation and research variant Adam-U, and Adam Pro, with a V-shaped hip, a three-degree-of-freedom waist, PSA actuators peaking near 360 Nm, five-fingered hands, and about 5 kg of payload. Adam appeared at CES, WAIC 2025, and on CGTN's 2026 Spring Festival Gala, and an April 2026 video showed it navigating real outdoor stairs. The registry records it at research maturity: its public evidence is demonstrations of music conducting, dance, and stair-climbing, which are stated capability claims, and Adam is sold and pre-ordered primarily as a developer and research platform to labs rather than deployed at customers. A partnership with Tianyong Engineering to integrate Adam into automotive production is forward-looking intent with no units, sites, or dates specified, so any operational deployment, the exact funding, a planned Tianjin plant producing hundreds of units annually, and the demo capabilities as repeatable field performance are all recorded as claimed-but-not-verified.

Key facts & specs

13 entries
website
https://www.pndbotics.com/
maturity
research
lifecycle
active
manufacturer
PNDbotics
Maturity stage
research
Dof
~25 DoF (Adam Lite) to ~41-43 DoF (Adam/Adam SP)
Hands
five-fingered hands
Specs
Adam: ~1.6-1.67 m, ~60-63 kg; variants Adam Lite (~25 DoF), Adam/Adam SP (~41-43 DoF), Adam-U (teleop/research), Adam Pro. V-shaped hip, 3-DoF waist, PSA quasi-direct-drive actuators (~360 Nm peak), 5-finger hands (6 DoF/hand), ~5 kg payload. Adam-U pre-order ~$45k (research institutions).
Height cm
~1.6-1.67 m
Weight kg
~60-63 kg
Form Factor
humanoid (full-size bipedal humanoid; full-stack in-house actuators)
Payload kg
~5 kg
Price
~$45k (Adam-U pre-order, research institutions)

Availability and pricing

price
$45K (manufacturer target) · as of 2025-06-01
lead time
Not disclosed
sales model
Not disclosed
availability
Pre-order open
units in field
Not disclosed
pricing Model
Not disclosed

Safety record

Safety Status
Zero incidents on record

No incidents on record for Adam.

Risk Metrics
Incidents: 0
Recalls: 0

FAQ

13 entries
What is Adam?

PNDbotics (founded 2023, headquartered in Beijing's Haidian district with a registered subsidiary in Ningbo) is a full-stack humanoid startup that develops its own PSA quasi-direct-drive actuators, robot control unit, and battery management system. Its Adam humanoid stands about 1.6 to 1.67 m and 60 to 63 kg and comes in several variants, including Adam Lite at about 25 degrees of freedom, the roughly 41-to-43-degree-of-freedom Adam and Adam SP, the teleoperation and research variant Adam-U, and Adam Pro, with a V-shaped hip, a three-degree-of-freedom waist, PSA actuators peaking near 360 Nm, five-fingered hands, and about 5 kg of payload. Adam appeared at CES, WAIC 2025, and on CGTN's 2026 Spring Festival Gala, and an April 2026 video showed it navigating real outdoor stairs. The registry records it at research maturity: its public evidence is demonstrations of music conducting, dance, and stair-climbing, which are stated capability claims, and Adam is sold and pre-ordered primarily as a developer and research platform to labs rather than deployed at customers. A partnership with Tianyong Engineering to integrate Adam into automotive production is forward-looking intent with no units, sites, or dates specified, so any operational deployment, the exact funding, a planned Tianjin plant producing hundreds of units annually, and the demo capabilities as repeatable field performance are all recorded as claimed-but-not-verified.

How much does Adam cost?

Adam is listed at $45,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is a manufacturer target price, not a confirmed consumer price.

Is Adam actually deployed in the real world?

Adam is at the research stage: it exists, but DEPLOY has no verified real-world deployment on record. Manufacturer capability claims should be read as claims pending independent verification.

Is Adam autonomous or teleoperated?

Not verified as fully autonomous. Adam's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (Picks and packs), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.

What are the specs of Adam?

Adam's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Degrees of freedom: ~25 DoF (Adam Lite) to ~41-43 DoF (Adam/Adam SP); Height: ~1.6-1.67 m; Weight: ~60-63 kg; Payload: ~5 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.

Who makes Adam?

Adam is made by PNDbotics, based in Seoul, South Korea, founded in 2023.

Can you buy Adam?

Adam is at research stage and is not yet available for sale.

What are alternatives to Adam?

On the DEPLOY registry, comparable humanoid robots to Adam include Walker S2, Digit, Unitree G1, Atlas.

How does Adam compare to Walker S2?

Adam and Walker S2 (UBTech Robotics · 18 deployments) are both humanoid robots on the DEPLOY registry. Adam has 0 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.

Is Adam a top humanoid?

On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Adam ranks in roughly the top under 1% of humanoid models tracked by the registry.

What is Adam's maturity stage?

Adam is at the research stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Research stage means active development without commercial deployments on file.

Where is Adam deployed?

No verified deployments of Adam are currently on the DEPLOY registry. DEPLOY records deployments only when verified at a named site with a primary source; absence may reflect pre-deployment, research, or manufacturer-internal use.

Is Adam safe?

Adam has no incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. This does not constitute a safety guarantee; it reflects the incidents DEPLOY has tracked and verified to date.

Sectors & applications

1 entry