r1

[pilot]

wearable · food-service · 1 deployments in catalog

Field Advisory

Verified: Unveiled CES Jan 2024 at $199 (Jesse Lyu, Teenage Engineering design). Pitched a 'Large Action Model' (LAM). Independent investigation (Android Authority) reproducibly showed the device runs a single Android 13 launcher app, contradicting the bespoke-OS/LAM framing., Commercial go-to-market (mixed tiering): Rabbit self-reported 100,000+ units sold (company claim, unaudited). The Verge reported only ~5,000 of ~100,000 buyers were active at any moment (Sept 2024). So it shipped at retail scale, but verified functional usage and the marketed capability fell well short - hence registry maturity=pilot (capability-grade), with the commercial distribution facts recorded here., Still active (verified): Rabbit continues shipping software: teach mode (2024), rabbitOS 2 (Sept 2025), rabbitOS 2.1 (Apr 2026), generative UI / agentic features. The product is NOT dead (lifecycleState=active)., Claimed / contested: Late-2025/2026 reports (Tom's Guide) that employees went unpaid for months and a strike began are third-party, employee-sourced, and disputed by the company (which claims a signed financing term sheet). No wire/SEC corroboration. Treat as reported-not-established., Category: AI-native wearable; form_factor=wearable. Canonical capability-claims-vs-verified-execution case alongside Humane AI Pin.

Manufacturer

Rabbit Inc

Form Factor

wearable

Lifecycle

pilot

Operational Reality

Audited

Deployments

1

Target Price

$199 (actual sale price)

  • PILOT

Description

The Rabbit R1 is a $199 pocket AI companion device with unlimited AI conversations, translation, and voice recordings. Launched in 2024, it sold approximately 100,000 units but faced mass returns and critical reviews. No subscription required — one-time purchase.

Key facts & specs

16 entries
website
https://www.rabbit.tech/
maturity
pilot
lifecycle
active
manufacturer
Rabbit Inc
deployments count
1
Maturity stage
pilot
Design
bright orange square handheld with scroll wheel + camera; Teenage Engineering design
Launch
unveiled CES January 2024 at $199; no subscription
Battery
1000 mAh
Weight kg
0.115
Form Factor
wearable / pocket AI companion device (handheld)
Price
$199 one-time, no subscription required
Units sold
~100,000 (with high return rates)
Active users
~5,000 of ~100,000 buyers active at any moment (The Verge, Sept 2024)
Status
On sale but struggling — mass returns, payroll issues reported
Pricing model
One-time device purchase (no subscription)

Availability and pricing

price
$199 (actual sale price) · as of 2026-06-17
lead time
Not disclosed
sales model
Not disclosed
availability
Shipping now
units in field
Not disclosed
pricing Model
Not disclosed

Safety record

Safety Status
Zero incidents on record

No incidents on record for r1.

Risk Metrics
Incidents: 0
Recalls: 0

FAQ

13 entries
What is r1?

The Rabbit R1 is a $199 pocket AI companion device with unlimited AI conversations, translation, and voice recordings. Launched in 2024, it sold approximately 100,000 units but faced mass returns and critical reviews. No subscription required — one-time purchase.

How much does r1 cost?

r1 is listed at $199 on the DEPLOY registry. This is an actual sale price on record.

Is r1 actually deployed in the real world?

Yes. r1 is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.

What are the specs of r1?

r1's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Battery: 1000 mAh; Weight: 0.115 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.

Who makes r1?

r1 is made by Rabbit Inc, based in Los Angeles, California, USA, founded in 2022.

Where is r1 deployed?

1 verified deployment of r1 is on the DEPLOY registry, including at Santa Monica.

Can you buy r1?

r1 is available for purchase - a real sale price is on record (see the pricing section for the figure and its source).

What are alternatives to r1?

On the DEPLOY registry, comparable wearable robots to r1 include Synchron Stentrode, Bee AI Wearable, Bee Pioneer, Esper Hand.

How does r1 compare to Synchron Stentrode?

r1 and Synchron Stentrode (Synchron · 5 deployments) are both wearable robots on the DEPLOY registry. r1 has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.

Is r1 a top wearable?

On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, r1 ranks in roughly the top 61% of wearable models tracked by the registry.

What is r1's maturity stage?

r1 is at the pilot stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Pilot stage means at least one named-customer trial deployment is verified.

Is r1 safe?

r1 has no incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. This does not constitute a safety guarantee; it reflects the incidents DEPLOY has tracked and verified to date.

What is the Rabbit R1 AI device?

The Rabbit R1 is a $199 AI-native device that offers unlimited AI conversations, translation, and voice recordings. It is designed as a dedicated AI assistant device, not a phone. Includes a chance to explore cutting-edge AI agents. A walkie-talkie form factor for AI interaction.

Deployments

1 entry

Sectors & applications

1 entry