Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)
[commercial]maritime_surface · food-service · 1 deployments in catalog
Verified: Saronic (founded 2022, Austin TX) makes defense autonomous surface vessels. Funding ladder: Series B $175M at $1B (2024) -> Series C $600M at $4B (Feb 2025) -> Series D $1.75B at $9.25B (Mar 31 2026, Kleiner Perkins-led). VERIFIED: $392M Navy OTA formalized May 16 2025 (ceiling through 2031), ~$197M obligated Jul 2025. Extends the new-defense AI-first cohort (Anduril/Shield AI/Helsing) into the surface-maritime regime., CORRECTIONS (dispatch was stale): (1) Funding: the dispatch's ~$600M/$4B Series C is stale - Saronic closed a $1.75B Series D at $9.25B (Mar 2026). (2) Product line EVOLVED: Spyglass/Cutlass are SUPERSEDED; current line = Corsair/Mirage/Marauder (Marauder is 180', not 150'). (3) The '$392M Corsair contract' framing is wrong: $392M is a CEILING and the Navy did NOT name a vessel (FPDS 'small craft')., Maturity = commercial (early/fielding): One real DoD production-intent OTA with money obligated ($197M) clears the gating bar above pure development. But quantities/deliveries are UNDISCLOSED and the larger platforms (Mirage 52', Marauder 180') have NO verified at-sea customer delivery - production-claimed, not fielded-confirmed. Capital ($1.75B Series D) is not a fielding signal., Claimed but NOT verified: Specific vessel(s) under the $392M OTA; quantities/delivery dates; Port Alpha '$2.5B+ shipyard' + 'hundreds of vessels/year' throughput; Gulf Craft '50+ vessels/year'; any Marauder/Mirage customer delivery. AI/autonomous-mission performance is thin in the public record - 'autonomous warship' framing is largely marketing., Re-verify 2026-06-03: First MARAUDER medium USV LAUNCHED into on-water trials ~May 29 2026 (design-to-water in under a year; first verified at-water milestone for the medium-USV line; 4 hulls in progression: hull 1 in trials, hull 2 outfitting, hulls 3-4 building). RECONCILIATION (corrects a possible double-count): the '$392M Navy contract' and the '$197M obligated OTA' are the SAME award - one ~$392M NAVSEA Corsair OTA running through May 2031 with ~$197M obligated upfront, NOT two contracts. No NEW contract or obligated-value movement since the Mar 31 2026 Series D ($1.75B at $9.25B). On-water trials != delivery/acceptance (no delivery quantities/dates disclosed). Port Alpha remains plans-only. No lifecycle change (still production-ramp).
Manufacturer
Saronic TechnologiesForm Factor
maritime_surface
Lifecycle
commercial
Operational Reality
Audited
Deployments
1
Target Price
Not publicly disclosed
- COMMERCIAL
- ACTIVE
Description
Saronic Technologies (founded 2022 in Austin, Texas by Dino Mavrookas, an eleven-year Navy SEAL, with CTO Vibhav Altekar, an early Anduril engineer who worked on Ghost Shark, and co-founders Rob Lehman and Doug Lambert) makes defense autonomous surface vessels, extending the new-defense AI-first cohort of Anduril, Shield AI, and Helsing into the surface-maritime regime. Its current production line is the 24-foot Corsair, the 52-foot Mirage, and the 180-foot Marauder medium uncrewed surface vessel, and it is building a Port Alpha shipyard. Its funding ladder ran from a $175 million Series B at a $1 billion valuation in 2024 to a $600 million Series C at $4 billion in February 2025 and a $1.75 billion Series D at a $9.25 billion valuation on March 31, 2026, led by Kleiner Perkins. Several corrections to stale framing are worth recording: the originating dispatch's $600 million Series C is superseded by the Series D, the earlier Spyglass and Cutlass vessels are superseded by the Corsair, Mirage, and Marauder line with the Marauder at 180 rather than 150 feet, and the often-cited $392 million Corsair contract framing is wrong because the $392 million is a Navy other-transaction-authority ceiling through 2031 with about $197 million obligated in July 2025, and the Navy did not name a vessel. The registry records it at early commercial maturity: one real production-intent Navy contract with money obligated clears the gating bar above pure development, but quantities and deliveries are undisclosed and the larger Mirage and Marauder platforms have no verified at-sea customer delivery, so they are production-claimed rather than fielded-confirmed, and the $1.75 billion of capital is not itself a fielding signal. Its Port Alpha throughput claims, any Mirage or Marauder customer delivery, and its autonomous-warship mission performance are not verified.
Key facts & specs
- website
- https://www.saronic.com/vessels
- maturity
- commercial
- lifecycle
- active
- manufacturer
- Saronic Technologies
- deployments count
- 5
- Maturity stage
- commercial
- Range
- 2500 nm
- Specs
- Current production line: Corsair (24', 1,000+ nm, 1,000 lb), Mirage (52', 2,500+ nm, 3,500 lb), Marauder (180' MUSV, ~5,400 nm, 150 metric tons). Founded 2022, Austin TX (co-founders Dino Mavrookas (CEO, ex-Navy SEAL), Vibhav Altekar (CTO, early Anduril/Ghost Shark), Rob Lehman, Doug Lambert). Building 'Port Alpha' shipyard.
- Max speed
- 35 kt
- Form Factor
- maritime (autonomous SURFACE vessels / USVs; defense; new-defense AI-first)
- Payload kg
- 1588
- Length ( Corsair)
- 24 feet
- Range ( Corsair)
- 1,000+ nm
- Payload ( Corsair)
- 1,000 lb
- Length ( Mirage)
- 52 feet
- Range ( Mirage)
- 2,500+ nm
- Payload ( Mirage)
- 3,500 lb
- Length ( Marauder)
- 180 feet
- Range ( Marauder)
- ~5,400 nm
- Weight ( Marauder)
- 150 metric tons
- Funding ( Series D)
- $1.75 billion at $9.25 billion valuation (March 31, 2026)
- Navy O T A ceiling
- $392 million through 2031
- Navy O T A obligated
- ~$197 million (July 2025)
Availability and pricing
- price
- Not publicly disclosed
- lead time
- Not disclosed
- sales model
- Not disclosed
- availability
- Not sold (internal use)
- units in field
- Not disclosed
- pricing Model
- Not disclosed
Safety record
2 incidents on record (1 moderate, 1 minor). Most recent: Jun 2026.
FAQ
What is Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)?
Saronic Technologies (founded 2022 in Austin, Texas by Dino Mavrookas, an eleven-year Navy SEAL, with CTO Vibhav Altekar, an early Anduril engineer who worked on Ghost Shark, and co-founders Rob Lehman and Doug Lambert) makes defense autonomous surface vessels, extending the new-defense AI-first cohort of Anduril, Shield AI, and Helsing into the surface-maritime regime. Its current production line is the 24-foot Corsair, the 52-foot Mirage, and the 180-foot Marauder medium uncrewed surface vessel, and it is building a Port Alpha shipyard. Its funding ladder ran from a $175 million Series B at a $1 billion valuation in 2024 to a $600 million Series C at $4 billion in February 2025 and a $1.75 billion Series D at a $9.25 billion valuation on March 31, 2026, led by Kleiner Perkins. Several corrections to stale framing are worth recording: the originating dispatch's $600 million Series C is superseded by the Series D, the earlier Spyglass and Cutlass vessels are superseded by the Corsair, Mirage, and Marauder line with the Marauder at 180 rather than 150 feet, and the often-cited $392 million Corsair contract framing is wrong because the $392 million is a Navy other-transaction-authority ceiling through 2031 with about $197 million obligated in July 2025, and the Navy did not name a vessel. The registry records it at early commercial maturity: one real production-intent Navy contract with money obligated clears the gating bar above pure development, but quantities and deliveries are undisclosed and the larger Mirage and Marauder platforms have no verified at-sea customer delivery, so they are production-claimed rather than fielded-confirmed, and the $1.75 billion of capital is not itself a fielding signal. Its Port Alpha throughput claims, any Mirage or Marauder customer delivery, and its autonomous-warship mission performance are not verified.
Is Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
What are the specs of Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)?
Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)'s recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Range: 2500 nm; Max speed: 35 kt; Payload: 1588 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)?
Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) is made by Saronic Technologies, based in Austin, Texas, USA, founded in 2022.
Where is Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) deployed?
5 verified deployments of Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) are on the DEPLOY registry, including at London, United Kingdom, Brownsville, Texas, USA, USA.
Can you buy Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)?
Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) is in commercial deployment and is sold to operators; contact the manufacturer to buy, and see the pricing section for any recorded price.
What are alternatives to Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable maritime_surface robots to Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) include Corsair, Voyager, Surveyor, Saildrone USV (Explorer / Voyager / Surveyor).
How does Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) compare to Corsair?
Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) and Corsair (Saronic Technologies · 8 deployments) are both maritime_surface robots on the DEPLOY registry. Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) has 5 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) a top maritime_surface?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) ranks in roughly the top 13% of maritime_surface models tracked by the registry.
What is Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder)'s maturity stage?
Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.
Is Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) safe?
Saronic USV (Corsair / Mirage / Marauder) has 2 active incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. 2 incidents on record (1 moderate, 1 minor). Most recent: Jun 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
What is the Saronic autonomous vessel?
Saronic builds autonomous surface vessels (ASVs) for naval and maritime operations. The Mirage is a 52-foot ASV and the Corsair is a 24-foot ASV designed for speed and impact. Saronic received a $392M US Navy contract for Corsair ASVs. The company achieved an operational milestone with a military rescue in Oman.