Cybercab
[research]av · robotaxis · 6 deployments in catalog
Unveiled: Revealed October 10 2024 at Tesla's 'We, Robot' event (Warner Bros studio); about 20 Cybercab units gave demonstration rides on a closed lot., Design (verified): Purpose-built two-seat robotaxi: no steering wheel or pedals, two butterfly doors, inductive (wireless) charging with no charge port, a single ~20.5-inch center display, no side mirrors or rear window., Price (stated target): Musk stated a consumer price target below $30,000 and an operating-cost claim near $0.20/mile. A target, not a realized price; no consumer order or reservation pathway exists as of mid-2026., Production status (verified-vs-claimed): Tesla's Q1 2026 SEC 10-Q characterizes the Cybercab as 'Pilot Production' at Giga Texas (first unit Feb 2026) - a MANUFACTURING status. On the Q1 2026 earnings call Musk said production has 'just started' and projected volume production in 2026 (a claim/target). Production-start evidence rests on Tesla's own statements and Tesla-controlled footage, not independent verification. Tesla self-certified the Cybercab to FMVSS to bypass NHTSA's 2,500-unit AV exemption cap., Not the deployed robotaxi vehicle: Tesla's actual Robotaxi service (launched Austin, June 2025; see model tesla-robotaxi) runs on regular Model Y vehicles with safety monitors and remote operators, NOT the Cybercab. The Cybercab is the purpose-built vehicle that has not yet entered real-world robotaxi operation. Musk has used 'robotaxi' and 'Cybercab' interchangeably, which is a frequent source of confusion., Autonomy (camera-only FSD): Cybercab relies on Tesla's camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar; see brain tesla-fsd-bot). A May 2026 Reuters investigation reported Tesla's FSD safety statistics are methodologically flawed (challenged by 10 of 11 researchers) and that Tesla pre-maps its robotaxi zones, contradicting earlier 'no mapping' claims; unsupervised FSD has faced delays., Tesla product-family disambiguation: Distinct from Tesla Optimus (humanoid; see tesla-optimus) and from Tesla's FSD AI stack (brain tesla-fsd-bot). Cybercab is the purpose-built AV vehicle line; the registry classifies it form_factor=av (NHTSA/DMV-governed road vehicle), cohorting with robotaxi AVs (Waymo, Zoox, Apollo Go) rather than with humanoids., Honest absence (June 2026): No verified consumer transactions, no published purchase pathway, no published warranty or service terms, and no verified real-world Cybercab deployment or deliveries. Registry maturity=research reflects the absence of any verified real-world operation despite early (pilot-stage) manufacturing.
Manufacturer
TeslaForm Factor
av
Lifecycle
research
Operational Reality
Audited
Deployments
6
Target Price
$30K (manufacturer target)
- AV
- RESEARCH
Description
The Tesla Cybercab is a purpose-built two-seat autonomous robotaxi vehicle that Tesla unveiled on October 10 2024 at its 'We, Robot' event. It has no steering wheel or pedals, two upward-opening butterfly doors, inductive (wireless) charging with no charge port, and a single roughly 20.5-inch center display, and it relies on Tesla's camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar). Tesla has stated a consumer price target below $30,000 and, on its Q1 2026 earnings call, that Cybercab production has 'just started' with volume production targeted in 2026; Tesla's own Q1 2026 SEC filing characterizes the status as 'Pilot Production' at Giga Texas, and the production-start evidence rests on Tesla's statements and controlled footage rather than independent verification. The Cybercab is NOT the vehicle behind Tesla's deployed Robotaxi service, which launched in Austin in June 2025 on regular Model Y cars with safety monitors. As of mid-2026 there are no verified consumer transactions, purchase pathway, warranty terms, or real-world Cybercab deployment; the registry records it at research maturity (no verified real-world operation), with production and pricing claims tracked as stated, not demonstrated.
Key facts & specs
- website
- https://www.tesla.com/we-robot
- maturity
- research
- lifecycle
- active
- manufacturer
- Tesla
- deployments count
- 6
- Maturity stage
- research
- Doors
- 2 upward-opening butterfly doors (auto-open, no handles)
- Lidar
- no lidar or radar
- Range
- 280 mi
- Battery
- 48 kWh
- Display
- ~20.5 inch center touchscreen
- Seating
- 2 passengers
- Autonomy
- Tesla camera-only Full Self-Driving (FSD); no lidar or radar; 'unsupervised' autonomy intended
- Charging
- inductive / wireless (no charge port)
- Controls
- no steering wheel or pedals
- Weight kg
- 1412
- Form Factor
- av (purpose-built two-seat road robotaxi)
- Battery kwh
- ~35 kWh
- Battery Range
- planned ~35 kWh / ~200 mi range (Tesla-stated, unverified)
- Sensor suite
- camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar)
- Exterior Omissions
- no side mirrors, no rear window
- Price
- Below $30,000 (stated target)
- Production status
- Pilot Production at Giga Texas (first unit Feb 2026)
- F M V S S
- Tesla self-certified the Cybercab to FMVSS to bypass NHTSA's 2,500-unit AV exemption cap.
- Calibration
- Cybercabs retrofitted with steering wheels/pedals for calibration miles before unsupervised operation
- Manufacturing
- Musk: 'hardest product to scale manufacturing' — everything on the robot is new
- Price target
- $25,000 per unit (company-reported target)
- Operating cost
- Sub-$0.20 per mile (company-reported target)
- Production rate target
- 1 per 10 seconds (would be fastest auto production ever)
- Production start
- April 2026 at Giga Texas
- Volume production timeline
- SLIPPED — 'volume production' language removed from Q2 2026 shareholder letter. Was targeted for 2026.
- App features (v26.6.0)
- Gesture-based seat controls, drag climate, hold-to-open powered doors w/ e-stop, phone media remote (music + Netflix)
- Cybercab controls
- No steering wheel/pedals — gesture seat incline/recline, bench controls, drag climate, powered doors with emergency stop
- Public launch (announced)
- Aug 2026: Tesla preparing public Cybercab launch in Austin, starting with employee rides on public roads. Winners to attend launch event announced by Aug 25. Regulators don't currently allow commercial steering-wheel-free robotaxis (per Mashable/The Information).
- J P Morgan intel ( Aug 2026)
- Tesla holding back Model Y robotaxi conversions, confident in Cybercab near-term scaling
- Form factor strategy
- Cybercab is initial form factor; additional vehicle types expected (robovan demo referenced)
- F S D V15
- Step-change upgrade with 7 core technologies, 40% tested in robotaxi fleet. AI4.5: 10% higher FLOPS, 2x memory
- Efficiency claim (reported)
- Reported claim (Sawyer Merritt on X, Sep 22 2026): Tesla drive-unit video says Cybercab is 40% more efficient than Model Y. Not Tesla-confirmed in this registry record.
- Austin active fleet (reported, Sep 2026)
- Reported (Robotaxi Tracker via Electrek, as of ~22 Sep 2026): about 8 Tesla robotaxis in Austin were observed carrying passengers over the prior 7 days (community tracker of sightings / passenger-carrying activity). Not a Tesla ops disclosure. Cap: this is an active-ops estimate from a secondary/community source, not Texas DMV registration counts and not confirmed concurrent fleet size from Tesla.
Availability and pricing
- price
- $30K (manufacturer target) · as of 2024-10-10
- lead time
- Not disclosed
- sales model
- Not disclosed
- availability
- Announced, no date
- units in field
- Not disclosed
- pricing Model
- Not disclosed
Safety record
2 recalls and 17 incidents on record (1 catastrophic, 1 critical, 8 serious, 4 moderate, 5 minor). Most recent: Sep 2026.
Hardware architecture
- Tesla HW4 (FSD Computer 2)COMPUTE SOC[Safety Critical](primary safety)
primary inference compute
Software & AI models
FAQ
What is Cybercab?
The Tesla Cybercab is a purpose-built two-seat autonomous robotaxi vehicle that Tesla unveiled on October 10 2024 at its 'We, Robot' event. It has no steering wheel or pedals, two upward-opening butterfly doors, inductive (wireless) charging with no charge port, and a single roughly 20.5-inch center display, and it relies on Tesla's camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar). Tesla has stated a consumer price target below $30,000 and, on its Q1 2026 earnings call, that Cybercab production has 'just started' with volume production targeted in 2026; Tesla's own Q1 2026 SEC filing characterizes the status as 'Pilot Production' at Giga Texas, and the production-start evidence rests on Tesla's statements and controlled footage rather than independent verification. The Cybercab is NOT the vehicle behind Tesla's deployed Robotaxi service, which launched in Austin in June 2025 on regular Model Y cars with safety monitors. As of mid-2026 there are no verified consumer transactions, purchase pathway, warranty terms, or real-world Cybercab deployment; the registry records it at research maturity (no verified real-world operation), with production and pricing claims tracked as stated, not demonstrated.
How much does Cybercab cost?
Cybercab is listed at $30,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is a manufacturer target price, not a confirmed consumer price.
Is Cybercab actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Cybercab is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is Cybercab autonomous or teleoperated?
Not verified as fully autonomous. Cybercab's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (Transports passengers), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.
What are the specs of Cybercab?
Cybercab's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Range: 280 mi; Battery: 48 kWh; Weight: 1412 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes Cybercab?
Cybercab is made by Tesla, based in Austin, Texas, USA, founded in 2003.
Where is Cybercab deployed?
6 verified deployments of Cybercab are on the DEPLOY registry, including at Austin, Texas, USA, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA.
Can you buy Cybercab?
Cybercab is at research stage and is not yet available for sale.
Is Cybercab approved by regulators?
Cybercab has 2 regulatory records on the DEPLOY registry: NHTSA recall (26V255), recalled; NHTSA recall (24E-067), recalled. See the Regulatory filings section for each agency source.
What AI powers Cybercab?
Cybercab runs Tesla FSD-Bot. Each brain assignment is verified at the registry level via primary sources.
What are alternatives to Cybercab?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable av robots to Cybercab include Waymo Driver (6th gen), Zoox Robotaxi, Tesla Robotaxi (Model Y ADS), May Mobility Autonomous Sienna.
How does Cybercab compare to Waymo Driver (6th gen)?
Cybercab and Waymo Driver (6th gen) (Waymo · 52 deployments) are both av robots on the DEPLOY registry. Cybercab has 6 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Cybercab a top av?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Cybercab ranks in roughly the top 52% of av models tracked by the registry.
What is Cybercab's maturity stage?
Cybercab is at the research stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Research stage means active development without commercial deployments on file.
Is Cybercab safe?
Cybercab has 19 active incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. 2 recalls and 17 incidents on record (1 catastrophic, 1 critical, 8 serious, 4 moderate, 5 minor). Most recent: Sep 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
What is the Tesla Cybercab?
The Tesla Cybercab is a purpose-built fully autonomous vehicle with no steering wheel or pedals, priced at $30,000. Tesla commenced production in February 2026. The Cybercab is designed to offer robotaxi rides in your area in the future via the Tesla Robotaxi service.
Deployments
- Cybercab at Austin, Texas, USA[OPERATIONAL]
Austin, Texas, USA · Jul 1, 2026
- Cybercab at Austin, Texas, USA[OPERATIONAL]
Austin, Texas, USA · Aug 17, 2026
- Cybercab at Austin, Texas, USA[OPERATIONAL]
Austin, Texas, USA · Feb 17, 2026
- Cybercab at Las Vegas, Nevada, USA[ANNOUNCED]
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA · Aug 21, 2026
- Cybercab at Austin, Texas, USA[ANNOUNCED]
Austin, Texas, USA · Aug 23, 2026
- Cybercab at Las Vegas, Nevada, USA[ANNOUNCED]
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA · Jan 29, 2026
Incidents affecting Cybercab
- Federal regulators launch investigation into Tesla Cybercab deployment hours after first production vehicles hit Austin roads[REGULATORY ACTION]
Sep 4, 2026
- NHTSA opens investigation into Tesla Cybercab deployment hours after steering-wheel-free robotaxi launches in Austin[REGULATORY ACTION]
Sep 4, 2026