Tesla Optimus
[research]humanoid · humanoids · 6 deployments in catalog
Concept announced: Tesla AI Day, August 2021 (concept only, no hardware; represented by a person in a suit)., First prototypes: Tesla AI Day, September 30, 2022: the Bumble-C prototype walked untethered; a sleeker Optimus unit using Tesla components was shown but could not yet walk unaided., Optimus Gen 2: December 2023: Tesla-designed actuators and sensors, about 30 percent faster walking, roughly 10 kg lighter, 11-DOF hands with fingertip tactile sensing, a 2-DOF actuated neck, and balance/squat demos. This is the primary demonstrated-hardware artifact., We Robot demo (teleoperation): October 10, 2024: Optimus units appeared to converse and serve drinks; Bloomberg and TechCrunch reported the interactions were human-teleoperated, with only walking AI-driven. Tesla did not disclose the remote assistance beforehand., Factory work: claimed vs admitted: Tesla claimed internal factory testing (2024 to 2025). On the Q4 2025 earnings call (January 2026), Elon Musk acknowledged Optimus is not in material use in Tesla factories and remains in the research-and-development phase., V3 / production design: The production-design V3 reveal slipped repeatedly (to mid-2026 as of the April 2026 call); Musk declined a 2026 volume target. An earlier claim of about 5,000 units in 2025 was reportedly missed (a few hundred built)., External commercial sale: No verified external commercial sale as of mid-2026. Tesla's stated goal is for Optimus to be useful outside Tesla around 2027., Price (claimed): Musk projects roughly $20,000 to $30,000 at scale (sub-$20,000 only above 1 million units per year). A projection, not a realized price., Supply constraint: On the Q1 2025 call, Musk attributed Optimus production impact to China's rare-earth magnet export restrictions., Leadership: Optimus program VP Milan Kovac departed June 2025; Ashok Elluswamy (Autopilot/AI) took over leadership., AI stack: Shares perception and compute approach with Tesla Full Self-Driving (registry brain: tesla-fsd-bot).
Manufacturer
TeslaForm Factor
humanoid
Lifecycle
research
Operational Reality
Mixed
Deployments
6
Target Price
$20K to $30K (manufacturer target)
- HUMANOID
- RESEARCH
- PILOT
Description
Tesla Optimus (Tesla Bot) is a general-purpose humanoid robot developed by Tesla, announced as a concept at AI Day in August 2021 and shown as working prototypes at AI Day in September 2022. The second generation, Optimus Gen 2 (December 2023), demonstrated Tesla-designed actuators and sensors, roughly 30 percent faster walking, a weight reduction of about 10 kg, 11-degree-of-freedom hands with fingertip tactile sensing, and a 2-degree-of-freedom actuated neck. Optimus shares its perception and compute approach with Tesla's Full Self-Driving stack. Tesla positions Optimus for factory and general-purpose labor and projects a long-run price near $20,000 to $30,000 at scale, but those figures and timelines are company projections rather than realized outcomes. At the We Robot event in October 2024, Optimus units that appeared to converse and serve drinks were reported by Bloomberg and TechCrunch to be human-teleoperated rather than autonomous. Tesla has claimed internal factory testing of Optimus, but on the Q4 2025 earnings call (January 2026) Elon Musk acknowledged the robots are not in material use in Tesla factories and remain in the research-and-development phase. As of mid-2026 there is no verified external commercial sale, and the production-design V3 reveal has slipped repeatedly. Optimus is therefore recorded at research maturity: its factory presence is maker-facility R&D, not a verified commercial deployment.
Key facts & specs
- website
- https://www.tesla.com/we-robot
- maturity
- research
- lifecycle
- active
- manufacturer
- Tesla
- deployments count
- 6
- Maturity stage
- research
- Dof
- 28 body DOF plus 11 per hand (Gen 2)
- Hands
- 11-DOF cable-driven hands with fingertip tactile sensing (Gen 2)
- Height
- approx 5 ft 8 in (173 cm)
- Weight
- approx 57 to 73 kg depending on generation; Gen 2 reduced about 10 kg vs Gen 1
- Battery
- 2.3 kWh, 52 V (Gen 1 published spec)
- Compute
- Tesla FSD computer; neural networks trained on Tesla's AI infrastructure; perception/compute approach shared with Tesla Full Self-Driving
- Actuators
- 6 Tesla-designed actuator types (3 rotary harmonic-drive, 3 linear roller-screw)
- Ai system
- Tesla FSD computer; neural networks trained on Tesla's AI infrastructure; perception/compute approach shared with Tesla Full Self-Driving
- Form Factor
- humanoid (general-purpose bipedal)
- Battery kwh
- 2.3
- Degrees Of Freedom
- approx 28 body DOF plus 11 per hand (Gen 2); a 22-DOF hand is claimed for the V3 production design
- payload kg
- 20
- Price (projected target)
- Musk projects roughly $20,000 to $30,000 at scale: a manufacturer target, not a sold or executable price.
- Availability
- Not for sale. Research and development stage; Tesla targets future production at scale, no preorder available.
- Pricing model
- Projected one-time purchase at scale (not currently available)
- Optimus 4 production
- Will be built in Austin with vertically integrated supply chain (in-house PCB work)
- A I software
- Same end-to-end FSD team (V12-V15) now developing Optimus control software
- 2026 production target
- 50,000-100,000 units (company-reported)
- Fremont capacity
- Up to 1M units/year at full build-out, ~40 sub-lines
- Production status
- As of July 20, no verified production units disclosed. Q1 guidance: late July/August start.
- Giga Texas facility
- Under construction, targeting 10M units/year, online 2027
- Volume production timeline
- SLIPPED — 'volume production' language removed from Q2 2026 shareholder letter. Musk cautioned about manufacturing challenges.
- Q2 2026 financials
- Net income $1.1B (-5% YoY), operating income $398M (-57% YoY)
- We, Robot V V C
- Oct 2024 demo: claimed autonomous interaction, verified teleoperated — marquee demo-vs-reality gap in humanoid robotics
- Teleoperation confirmed
- Bloomberg (Oct 14, 2024) + Morgan Stanley Adam Jonas — 'relied on tele-ops (human intervention)'
- M K B H D assessment
- 'Either the greatest robotics demo ever, or MOSTLY remote operated by a human' — Oct 12, 2024
- Musk admission
- Acknowledged teleoperation in 2025 earnings call — full autonomy not yet achieved at demo time
- Earnings call focus
- Musk spent ~10%+ of Tesla earnings call time on Optimus in past year (up from ~2% in 2022), peaking at nearly 1/3 on Q3 2025 call (TechCrunch/Hudson Labs analysis, Aug 2026)
- J P Morgan intel ( Aug 2026)
- SoP in coming months, commercial sales expected 2H27. Gen 3 design finalized, supply chain locked. Production line at former Model S/X line site in Fremont. Gen 3 unveil timed closer to SoP.
- Optimus Academy
- Phase 1 (H2 2026): robots deployed for data accumulation via real-world interaction
- Tesla app Optimus Energy / charger (reported)
- Tesla iOS app 4.61.0 decompile (Sep 2026) reports Optimus treated as a home Energy site with dedicated Optimus charger IDs; Whole Mars also flagged Optimus charger support in the app. This is third-party app analysis, not an official Tesla product announcement. Treat as reported product-path signal only.
- China supply-chain audits (reported)
- Reported Sep 2026: Tesla auditing Tuopu, Joyson Electronics, and Sanhua for Optimus mass-production supply (joint modules, actuators, precision structures). Secondary reporting says prior Optimus orders of varying size already placed; start of production tied to audit pass. Not official Tesla confirmation
- Musk industry-scale forecast ( C C T V Finance, Sep 2026)
- Musk-stated Sep 23 2026 via CMG/CCTV Finance (CGTN): industry path toward at least 1B humanoids in 10 years (or less) and up to ~100B in ~20 years; personal robots for care/tutoring and multi-robot supervision. Not a company manufacturing schedule for Optimus
- Gen 3 Android app U I assets (reported, Sep 2026)
- Reported Sep 23 2026 (Not a Tesla App; assets first flagged via Whole Mars / Tesla Newswire shares): latest Tesla Android app update contains official in-app 3D UI models of a sleeker Optimus Gen 3 look (covered joints / monolithic torso, matte black shin fairings vs exposed Gen 2.5 linkages). Secondary app-analysis signal only. Not Tesla press; not independent confirmation that these assets match final production hardware
Sourced specs
Autonomy: verified vs claimed
Mixed
Independent audit: evaluates human teleoperation reliance, VR assistance, and vendor autonomy bounds.
"Yes — the laundry folding demo was confirmed by Tesla as autonomous, not teleoperated. Optimus folded a black t-shirt using single-arm manipulation"
Availability and pricing
- price
- $20K to $30K (manufacturer target) · as of 2024-10-10
- lead time
- Not disclosed
- sales model
- Not for sale
- availability
- Announced, no date
- units in field
- 1000 claimed · vendor claim, unverified
- pricing Model
- Not for sale
Safety record
4 recalls and 52 incidents on record (3 catastrophic, 2 critical, 14 serious, 8 moderate, 29 minor). Most recent: Jul 2026.
Hardware architecture
- Tesla HW4 (FSD Computer 2)COMPUTE SOC[Safety Critical](primary safety)
primary inference compute
Supply chain
- TSMCCOMPUTE / SEMICONDUCTORmanufactures-for
TSMC FSD HW4 computer (N7 process node) -- onboard AI inference chip powering Tesla Optimus locomotion and perception
Software & AI models
FAQ
What is Tesla Optimus?
Tesla Optimus (Tesla Bot) is a general-purpose humanoid robot developed by Tesla, announced as a concept at AI Day in August 2021 and shown as working prototypes at AI Day in September 2022. The second generation, Optimus Gen 2 (December 2023), demonstrated Tesla-designed actuators and sensors, roughly 30 percent faster walking, a weight reduction of about 10 kg, 11-degree-of-freedom hands with fingertip tactile sensing, and a 2-degree-of-freedom actuated neck. Optimus shares its perception and compute approach with Tesla's Full Self-Driving stack. Tesla positions Optimus for factory and general-purpose labor and projects a long-run price near $20,000 to $30,000 at scale, but those figures and timelines are company projections rather than realized outcomes. At the We Robot event in October 2024, Optimus units that appeared to converse and serve drinks were reported by Bloomberg and TechCrunch to be human-teleoperated rather than autonomous. Tesla has claimed internal factory testing of Optimus, but on the Q4 2025 earnings call (January 2026) Elon Musk acknowledged the robots are not in material use in Tesla factories and remain in the research-and-development phase. As of mid-2026 there is no verified external commercial sale, and the production-design V3 reveal has slipped repeatedly. Optimus is therefore recorded at research maturity: its factory presence is maker-facility R&D, not a verified commercial deployment.
How much does Tesla Optimus cost?
Tesla Optimus is listed at $20,000 to $30,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is a manufacturer target price, not a confirmed consumer price.
Is Tesla Optimus actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Tesla Optimus is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is Tesla Optimus autonomous or teleoperated?
Not verified as fully autonomous. Tesla Optimus's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (Folds laundry and Tidies a room), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.
What are the specs of Tesla Optimus?
Tesla Optimus's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Degrees of freedom: 28 body DOF plus 11 per hand (Gen 2); Weight: approx 57 to 73 kg depending on generation; Gen 2 reduced about 10 kg vs Gen 1; Battery: 2.3 kWh, 52 V (Gen 1 published spec); Height: 173; Payload: 20 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes Tesla Optimus?
Tesla Optimus is made by Tesla, based in Austin, Texas, USA, founded in 2003.
Where is Tesla Optimus deployed?
6 verified deployments of Tesla Optimus are on the DEPLOY registry, including at South Korea, Austin, Texas, USA (Gigafactory Texas), Fremont, California, USA.
What AI powers Tesla Optimus?
Tesla Optimus runs Tesla FSD-Bot and Grok (xAI). Each brain assignment is verified at the registry level via primary sources.
What are alternatives to Tesla Optimus?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable humanoid robots to Tesla Optimus include Walker S2, Digit, Unitree G1, Atlas.
How does Tesla Optimus compare to Walker S2?
Tesla Optimus and Walker S2 (UBTech Robotics · 18 deployments) are both humanoid robots on the DEPLOY registry. Tesla Optimus has 6 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Tesla Optimus a top humanoid?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Tesla Optimus ranks in roughly the top 17% of humanoid models tracked by the registry.
What is Tesla Optimus's maturity stage?
Tesla Optimus is at the research stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Research stage means active development without commercial deployments on file.
Is Tesla Optimus safe?
Tesla Optimus has 56 active incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. 4 recalls and 52 incidents on record (3 catastrophic, 2 critical, 14 serious, 8 moderate, 29 minor). Most recent: Jul 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
Can you buy a Tesla Optimus robot?
No. As of July 2026, the Tesla Optimus is not for sale. There is no pre-order, reservation, waitlist, or deposit system. Elon Musk has stated a target price of $20,000 to $30,000 at full production scale, but Tesla has never published an official retail price. External sale is targeted for end of 2027 at the earliest.
How much will the Tesla Optimus cost?
Elon Musk has repeatedly said the Optimus could cost between $20,000 and $30,000 once production scales. However, Tesla has not confirmed a final retail price, and the target is for full-scale production, not the initial limited run. Industry analysts estimate broad consumer availability is unlikely before 2028-2029.
Deployments
- Tesla Optimus at Austin, Texas, USA (Gigafactory Texas)[OPERATIONAL]
Austin, Texas, USA (Gigafactory Texas) · Jun 1, 2024
- Tesla Optimus at Fremont, California, USA[OPERATIONAL]
Fremont, California, USA · Jan 1, 2024
- Tesla Optimus at Giga Texas, Austin, USA[PILOT]
Giga Texas, Austin, USA · Jan 1, 2026
- Tesla Optimus at Austin[PILOT]
Austin · Jan 1, 2025
- Tesla Optimus at Fremont[PILOT]
Fremont · Sep 1, 2024
- Tesla Optimus at South Korea[ANNOUNCED]
South Korea · Jun 1, 2025