Semi
[commercial]truck · trucks · 7 deployments in catalog
Verified (electric-truck reality): A Class 8 battery-electric truck (325 + 500 mi variants), unveiled Nov 2017, first delivered to PepsiCo Dec 1 2022. PepsiCo runs a sustained multi-site fleet (Sacramento beverage + Modesto Frito-Lay); independent pilots with ArcBest/ABF and DHL (Dec 2025). All deployed units are HUMAN-DRIVEN., Stated-claim: Volume production targeted 2026 at the dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory (~50k/yr capacity) - repeatedly slipped (2019 -> 2022 low-rate -> 2025 -> 2026). 2017 pricing of $150k (300mi) / $180k (500mi) is a stale projection. Production is still ramping (pilot/low-rate)., Claimed / roadmap (NOT verified): Any autonomous/self-driving capability. The Semi is an electric truck, not an autonomous one: no enabled L4, no Tesla autonomy claim, FSD references removed from marketing. Recorded NOT wired to the tesla-fsd-bot brain (autonomy unverified)., Tesla family: form_factor=truck; cohorts with autonomous-trucking AVs (Aurora, Kodiak, Bot Auto). Completes the Tesla physical-AI family alongside tesla-optimus, tesla-robotaxi, tesla-cybercab, and the tesla-fsd-bot brain - though the Semi's tie to FSD is roadmap, not realized.
Manufacturer
TeslaForm Factor
truck
Lifecycle
commercial
Operational Reality
Audited
Deployments
7
Target Price
$150K to $180K (manufacturer target)
- COMMERCIAL
Description
The Tesla Semi is a Class 8 battery-electric heavy-duty truck (325-mile and 500-mile range variants), unveiled in November 2017 with first deliveries to PepsiCo on December 1 2022. The registry records it at commercial maturity on the strength of PepsiCo's sustained, multi-site, multi-year fleet operation (Sacramento beverage and Modesto Frito-Lay), with additional independent pilots at ArcBest/ABF and DHL (first delivery December 2025). Critically, the Tesla Semi is a human-driven electric truck: every deployed unit runs with a driver, Tesla has made no Level 4 claim, and it removed Autopilot/FSD references from the Semi's marketing. Full autonomy is a roadmap claim only, so the registry does not wire the Semi to Tesla's FSD stack. Volume production at the dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory is targeted for 2026 (a repeatedly-slipped Tesla target); production is still ramping. 2017-era pricing of $150k-$180k is a stale projection.
Key facts & specs
- website
- https://www.tesla.com/semi
- maturity
- commercial
- lifecycle
- active
- manufacturer
- Tesla
- deployments count
- 7
- Maturity stage
- commercial
- Range
- 325-mile and 500-mile range variants (~500 mi headline)
- Battery
- 822 kWh
- Autonomy
- human-driven today; autonomy is a roadmap claim only (no enabled/verified L4; Tesla removed FSD/Autopilot references from Semi marketing)
- Weight kg
- 10433
- Drivetrain
- battery-electric; ~500 mi at 80,000 lb; Megacharger / 750kW charging
- Form Factor
- truck (Class 8 battery-electric heavy-duty truck)
- Walk speed ms
- 26.8
- Drive type
- battery-electric; Megacharger / 750kW charging
- Autonomy level
- human-driven; autonomy is a roadmap claim only (no enabled/verified L4)
- Production target
- 2026 at dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory (~50k/yr capacity)
- Price
- $150k (300mi) / $180k (500mi) — 2017-era stale projection
- Variants
- Standard Range (325 mi) and Long Range (500 mi at 82,000 lb GCW); three-motor rear axle setup
- Europe expansion
- Business Development Manager appointed for France (Aug 2026); sales listings in Germany; European deliveries expected ~2027
- Safety hardware
- 10 external cameras + internal cabin camera; active emergency braking; FSD planned for Semi
- Cabin
- Center-driving position, two 16-inch touchscreens, wireless phone chargers
- I-5 corridor
- BC2BC zero-emission corridor (Canada to Mexico, 1,381 mi) targeting 2030
- Z E T S C A L E R F P1
- Tesla named primary OEM for ZET SCALE RFP1 of 2,500 Class 8 BETs; not exclusive; split undisclosed
- Z E T S C A L E secondary O E Ms
- Secondary suppliers named Kenworth, Volvo, and RIDE (Tesla primary, not exclusive; split undisclosed)
- Z E T S C A L E founding shippers
- Founding shippers include Microsoft and PepsiCo (Catalyst Mobility / Smart Freight Centre alliance)
- Z E T S C A L E hubs
- Deployments planned across 10 freight hubs: Los Angeles, Stockton, Bakersfield, Seattle/Tacoma, Houston, Dallas, San Antonio, Chicago, Atlanta, Newark/New York area
- Z E T S C A L E long-term target
- Alliance targeting more than 10,000 zero-emission Class 8 trucks over time (beyond RFP1 2,500)
- Z E T Financial / Z E T Lease
- ZET Financial issues purchase orders and runs a ZET Lease program to take residual-value risk off fleets
- I M C Logistics order (reported)
- IMC Logistics said it is adding 50 Tesla Semis to its California fleet (Standard Range 325 mi port drayage + Long Range 500 mi inland), same-day as ZET SCALE coverage
- Factory opening event (reported Sep 2026)
- Invite-only Semi factory rollout event reported for Thursday Sep 24 2026 in Sparks, Nevada next to Gigafactory Nevada (factory tours included). Secondary Instagram coverage via @teslaownerssv; not treated here as confirmed volume-production start
Availability and pricing
- price
- $150K to $180K (manufacturer target) · as of 2017-11-16
- lead time
- Not disclosed
- sales model
- Not disclosed
- availability
- Shipping now
- units in field
- Not disclosed
- pricing Model
- Not disclosed
Safety record
1 incident on record (1 critical). Most recent: Jun 2026.
Supply chain
- TSMCCOMPUTE / SEMICONDUCTORTSMC FSD HW4 computer (N7 node) -- Full Self-Driving autonomy chip in Tesla Semi
TSMC FSD HW4 computer (N7 node) -- Full Self-Driving autonomy chip in Tesla Semi
Software & AI models
FAQ
What is Semi?
The Tesla Semi is a Class 8 battery-electric heavy-duty truck (325-mile and 500-mile range variants), unveiled in November 2017 with first deliveries to PepsiCo on December 1 2022. The registry records it at commercial maturity on the strength of PepsiCo's sustained, multi-site, multi-year fleet operation (Sacramento beverage and Modesto Frito-Lay), with additional independent pilots at ArcBest/ABF and DHL (first delivery December 2025). Critically, the Tesla Semi is a human-driven electric truck: every deployed unit runs with a driver, Tesla has made no Level 4 claim, and it removed Autopilot/FSD references from the Semi's marketing. Full autonomy is a roadmap claim only, so the registry does not wire the Semi to Tesla's FSD stack. Volume production at the dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory is targeted for 2026 (a repeatedly-slipped Tesla target); production is still ramping. 2017-era pricing of $150k-$180k is a stale projection.
How much does Semi cost?
Semi is listed at $150,000 to $180,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is a manufacturer target price, not a confirmed consumer price.
Is Semi actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Semi is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is Semi autonomous or teleoperated?
Not verified as fully autonomous. Semi's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (highway driving with FSD capabilities), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.
What are the specs of Semi?
Semi's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Range: 325-mile and 500-mile range variants (~500 mi headline); Battery: 822 kWh; Weight: 10433 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes Semi?
Semi is made by Tesla, based in Austin, Texas, USA, founded in 2003.
Where is Semi deployed?
7 verified deployments of Semi are on the DEPLOY registry, including at Sacramento, California, USA, Paris, Munich, Germany.
Can you buy Semi?
Semi is in commercial deployment and is sold to operators; contact the manufacturer to buy, and see the pricing section for any recorded price.
What AI powers Semi?
Semi runs Tesla FSD-Bot. Each brain assignment is verified at the registry level via primary sources.
What are alternatives to Semi?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable truck robots to Semi include Gatik Autonomous Box Truck, Kodiak Driverless Truck, Aurora Driver on International LT (2nd-gen), Kodiak Driver.
How does Semi compare to Gatik Autonomous Box Truck?
Semi and Gatik Autonomous Box Truck (Gatik · 12 deployments) are both truck robots on the DEPLOY registry. Semi has 7 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Semi a top truck?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Semi ranks in roughly the top 16% of truck models tracked by the registry.
What is Semi's maturity stage?
Semi is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.
Is Semi safe?
Semi has 1 active incident on record in the DEPLOY registry. 1 incident on record (1 critical). Most recent: Jun 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
Is the Tesla Semi autonomous or self-driving?
Tesla has not officially confirmed autonomous or Full Self-Driving (FSD) capability for the Tesla Semi. The Semi is in limited production and delivery (PepsiCo fleet), but no verified autonomous operation has been demonstrated. FSD is available on Tesla passenger cars (Model 3/Y) but not confirmed for the Semi. All claims of Semi autonomy are third-party speculation.
Deployments
- Semi at Canada[OPERATIONAL]
Canada · Dec 1, 2022
- Semi at California[OPERATIONAL]
California · Dec 1, 2025
- Semi at California[OPERATIONAL]
California · Dec 1, 2022
- Semi at Paris[ANNOUNCED]
Paris · Aug 4, 2026
- Semi at Munich, Germany[ANNOUNCED]
Munich, Germany · Aug 4, 2026
- Semi at California[ENDED]
California · Jul 1, 2025
- Semi at Sacramento, California, USA[OPERATIONAL]
Sacramento, California, USA · Jan 1, 2026