ROSA
[commercial]as the mid-size,… · food-service · 2 deployments in catalog
Corporate / lineage (verified): Zimmer Biomet Holdings (NYSE: ZBH; HQ Warsaw, Indiana; spun off 2001, acquired Biomet + renamed 2015). ROSA originated at Medtech SA (founded 2002, Montpellier, France; founder Bertin Nahum), which built ROSA Brain + ROSA Spine; Zimmer Biomet acquired Medtech SA in 2016 (EUR 50.00/share; completed July 2016) and extended the ROSA arm into orthopedics (Knee 2019, Hip 2021, Shoulder 2024). Montpellier remains ZB's surgical-robotics center of excellence., AI-as-primary boundary (the cohort's editorial point): AI-AUGMENTED, SURGEON-CONTROLLED assistance across orthopedics AND neurosurgery - NOT autonomous (the arm moves only on surgeon command). In-scope as a surgical robot. NUANCE: autonomy enters Zimmer Biomet's portfolio SEPARATELY via the Monogram Technologies acquisition (closed Oct 7 2025; a CT-based semi-autonomous TKA robot + a fully-autonomous version in development) - keep Monogram distinct from ROSA; the ROSA verdict (surgeon-controlled) is unchanged., ROSA Spine departed (correction): ROSA ONE Spine was cleared (Mar 2019) but LEFT Zimmer Biomet in the ZimVie spinoff (Mar 1 2022) and is NO LONGER a ZB product (ZimVie later exited spine entirely). The current ZB ROSA lineup is Knee, Hip, Brain, Shoulder - do NOT list Spine as a ZB ROSA variant., Cap-flag (aggregator drift): Installed-base figures conflict wildly across aggregators ('approaching 2,000' vs 'over 1,000 by end-2025' vs 'surpassed 500') - none traced to a ZB IR/8-K this pass; do NOT assert a number. The recurring 'ROSA Brain 120 hospitals / >9,000 procedures' is dated Medtech-era marketing, not a current verified figure. 510(k) K-numbers were not retrieved (clearance DATES anchored to ZB IR / trade press). ROSA Hip's cleared indication is specifically DIRECT ANTERIOR THA, narrower than the aggregator 'total hip' phrasing., Sub-cohort triangle (orthopedic, within surgical): Mid-size, multi-procedure platform archetype crossing surgical sub-domains (orthopedics + neurosurgery) - demonstrates cross-domain platform extension from a single robotic-arm + navigation architecture. Orthopedic triangle: Mako (large-footprint, CT-based, broad ortho scope) vs Smith+Nephew CORI (handheld, imageless, knee) vs ROSA (mid-size, knee/hip/brain).
Manufacturer
Zimmer BiometForm Factor
as the mid-size,…
Lifecycle
commercial
Operational Reality
Audited
Deployments
2
Target Price
$1M to $1.5M (analyst estimate)
- SURGICAL
- COMMERCIAL
- RESEARCH
Description
ROSA, the Robotic Surgical Assistant, is Zimmer Biomet's surgeon-controlled robotic-arm platform, recorded in the surgical form factor as the mid-size, multi-procedure archetype of the orthopedic sub-cohort and the one that crosses surgical sub-domains, spanning orthopedics and neurosurgery from a single robotic-arm and navigation architecture. The arm is coupled to optical navigation and two- and three-dimensional planning software and positions or guides instruments, but it moves only on surgeon command and does not cut or place autonomously, so ROSA is AI-augmented surgeon-controlled assistance rather than autonomous surgery and is in scope as a surgical robot. Made by Zimmer Biomet Holdings, listed on the New York Stock Exchange as ZBH and headquartered in Warsaw, Indiana, ROSA originated at the French company Medtech SA, founded in 2002 in Montpellier by Bertin Nahum, which built ROSA Brain and ROSA Spine; Zimmer Biomet acquired Medtech SA in 2016 at fifty euros per share and extended the ROSA arm into orthopedics. The current Zimmer Biomet variants are ROSA Knee for total knee arthroplasty, cleared January 25, 2019 and enhanced as ROSA Knee with OptimiZe cleared November 14, 2025, ROSA Hip for direct anterior total hip arthroplasty cleared August 18, 2021, ROSA ONE Brain for cranial neurosurgery including biopsy, stereo-electro-encephalography, deep brain stimulation, and ventricular and transnasal endoscopy cleared February 11, 2019, and ROSA Shoulder for shoulder arthroplasty cleared in February 2024. ROSA ONE Spine, cleared in 2019, left Zimmer Biomet in the March 2022 ZimVie spinoff and is no longer a Zimmer Biomet product. A registry nuance worth recording is that autonomy enters Zimmer Biomet's portfolio separately through its Monogram Technologies acquisition, completed October 7, 2025, which brings a CT-based semi-autonomous total-knee robot and a fully-autonomous version in development; this is kept distinct from ROSA, whose surgeon-controlled status is unchanged. Installed-base figures circulating in aggregators conflict and none is asserted here.
Key facts & specs
- website
- https://investor.zimmerbiomet.com/news-and-events/news/2019/01-25-2019-140357749
- maturity
- commercial
- lifecycle
- active
- manufacturer
- Zimmer Biomet
- deployments count
- 2
- Maturity stage
- commercial
- Arms
- single articulated robotic arm
- Specs
- ROSA (Robotic Surgical Assistant): a single articulated robotic arm coupled to optical navigation and 2D/3D planning software; the arm positions/guides instruments but moves only on surgeon command (it does not cut or place autonomously). Current Zimmer Biomet variants: ROSA Knee (TKA; imageless X-Atlas 2D-to-3D workflow with the Persona Knee; cleared Jan 25 2019; 'ROSA Knee with OptimiZe' cleared Nov 14 2025), ROSA Hip (direct anterior THA specifically; cleared Aug 18 2021), ROSA ONE Brain (cranial neurosurgery: biopsy, SEEG, DBS, ventricular/transnasal endoscopy; cleared Feb 11 2019), and ROSA Shoulder (shoulder arthroplasty; cleared Feb 2024). Made by Zimmer Biomet (NYSE: ZBH).
- Weight kg
- 460
- Form Factor
- surgical (MULTI-PROCEDURE robotic surgical assistant spanning orthopedics + neurosurgery; surgeon-controlled + AI-augmented, NOT autonomous; mid-size arm)
- Fda clearance
- ROSA Knee Jan 25 2019; ROSA Knee with OptimiZe Nov 14 2025; ROSA Hip Aug 18 2021; ROSA ONE Brain Feb 11 2019; ROSA Shoulder Feb 2024
- Visualization
- optical navigation and 2D/3D planning software
- Procedure types
- total knee arthroplasty, direct anterior total hip arthroplasty, cranial neurosurgery, shoulder arthroplasty
- Autonomy level
- Surgeon-controlled, AI-augmented; arm moves only on surgeon command and does not cut or place autonomously
- Drive type
- Single articulated robotic arm coupled to optical navigation and 2D/3D planning software
- R O S A Knee clearance date
- January 25, 2019
- R O S A Hip clearance date
- August 18, 2021
- Price
- $700,000-$1,500,000 (ROSA Knee)
- Availability
- Commercial — hospital capital purchase, Zimmer Biomet sales
- Pricing model
- Hospital capital equipment purchase
Availability and pricing
- price
- $1M to $1.5M (analyst estimate) · as of 2025-01-01
- lead time
- Not disclosed
- sales model
- Not disclosed
- availability
- Not sold (internal use)
- units in field
- Not disclosed
- pricing Model
- Not disclosed
Safety record
12 recalls and 3 incidents on record (1 catastrophic, 2 critical, 12 serious). Most recent: Jun 2026.
Hardware architecture
- ROSA ONE Brain Navigation SystemCONTROL SYSTEM[Safety Critical](primary safety)
Navigation / trajectory control
FAQ
What is ROSA?
ROSA, the Robotic Surgical Assistant, is Zimmer Biomet's surgeon-controlled robotic-arm platform, recorded in the surgical form factor as the mid-size, multi-procedure archetype of the orthopedic sub-cohort and the one that crosses surgical sub-domains, spanning orthopedics and neurosurgery from a single robotic-arm and navigation architecture. The arm is coupled to optical navigation and two- and three-dimensional planning software and positions or guides instruments, but it moves only on surgeon command and does not cut or place autonomously, so ROSA is AI-augmented surgeon-controlled assistance rather than autonomous surgery and is in scope as a surgical robot. Made by Zimmer Biomet Holdings, listed on the New York Stock Exchange as ZBH and headquartered in Warsaw, Indiana, ROSA originated at the French company Medtech SA, founded in 2002 in Montpellier by Bertin Nahum, which built ROSA Brain and ROSA Spine; Zimmer Biomet acquired Medtech SA in 2016 at fifty euros per share and extended the ROSA arm into orthopedics. The current Zimmer Biomet variants are ROSA Knee for total knee arthroplasty, cleared January 25, 2019 and enhanced as ROSA Knee with OptimiZe cleared November 14, 2025, ROSA Hip for direct anterior total hip arthroplasty cleared August 18, 2021, ROSA ONE Brain for cranial neurosurgery including biopsy, stereo-electro-encephalography, deep brain stimulation, and ventricular and transnasal endoscopy cleared February 11, 2019, and ROSA Shoulder for shoulder arthroplasty cleared in February 2024. ROSA ONE Spine, cleared in 2019, left Zimmer Biomet in the March 2022 ZimVie spinoff and is no longer a Zimmer Biomet product. A registry nuance worth recording is that autonomy enters Zimmer Biomet's portfolio separately through its Monogram Technologies acquisition, completed October 7, 2025, which brings a CT-based semi-autonomous total-knee robot and a fully-autonomous version in development; this is kept distinct from ROSA, whose surgeon-controlled status is unchanged. Installed-base figures circulating in aggregators conflict and none is asserted here.
How much does ROSA cost?
ROSA is listed at $1,000,000 to $1,500,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is an analyst estimate, not an official price.
Is ROSA actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. ROSA is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is ROSA autonomous or teleoperated?
Not verified as fully autonomous. ROSA's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (Assists surgery), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.
Where is ROSA deployed?
2 verified deployments of ROSA are on the DEPLOY registry, including at France, United States.
Can you buy ROSA?
ROSA is in commercial deployment and is sold to operators; contact the manufacturer to buy, and see the pricing section for any recorded price.
Is ROSA FDA cleared?
ROSA has 3 regulatory records on the DEPLOY registry: FDA recall, recalled; FDA 510(k) clearance, cleared; FDA 510(k) clearance (K182964), cleared. See the Regulatory filings section for each agency source.
What are alternatives to ROSA?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable surgical robots to ROSA include da Vinci (and Ion), Edge Multi-Port Surgical Robot, Edison Histotripsy System, Stryker Mako SmartRobotics.
How does ROSA compare to da Vinci (and Ion)?
ROSA and da Vinci (and Ion) (Intuitive Surgical · 15 deployments) are both surgical robots on the DEPLOY registry. ROSA has 2 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is ROSA a top surgical?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, ROSA ranks in roughly the top 92% of surgical models tracked by the registry.
What is ROSA's maturity stage?
ROSA is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.
Is ROSA safe?
ROSA has 15 active incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. 12 recalls and 3 incidents on record (1 catastrophic, 2 critical, 12 serious). Most recent: Jun 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
How does ROSA compare to Stryker Mako for knee replacement?
Neither Mako nor ROSA is clearly superior, according to industry analysts. Mako features a robotic arm with a bone saw and emphasizes haptic feedback. ROSA uses a cutting guide approach. Both are FDA-cleared for robotic-assisted knee replacement. Mako has over 1 million completed procedures; ROSA has multiple indications (knee, hip, brain, shoulder) with a Class I recall on the brain version.