Whoop (5.0 / MG)

[commercial]

biometric · food-service · 1 deployments in catalog

Field Advisory

THE verified-vs-claimed exemplar (the ECG-vs-BP split): ECG IS FDA-cleared: 510(k) K243236, cleared Apr 4 2025 (OTC ECG on Whoop MG; classifies AFib/sinus/low-HR/high-HR; 22+). Blood Pressure Insights is NOT cleared and is the load-bearing marketing-beyond-clearance case: FDA WARNING LETTER to WHOOP Inc dated Jul 14 2025 (CMS #709755) - FDA held that daily systolic/diastolic estimates are 'inherently associated with the diagnosis of' hypertension/hypotension, meeting the device definition + requiring premarket clearance Whoop never obtained ('An erroneously low or high blood pressure reading can have significant consequences')., Status + Whoop's contested defense: Whoop argues BPI is a 'general wellness' feature under the 21st Century Cures Act and REFUSED to remove it; the FDA compliance deadline passed. As of May 21 2026 the dispute is UNRESOLVED (Whoop + FDA in discussions; BPI remains LIVE on the MG); the warning letter now anchors a class-action lawsuit. 'Medical-grade' branding applies defensibly only to the cleared ECG, not to BP., CORRECTION (valuation): Valuation is $10.1B (Series G $575M, Mar 2026; QIA/Mubadala) - NOT the stale ~$3.6B (that was the Aug 2021 Series F)., Verification posture: Boundary: biometric-primary + AI-augmented (subscription model bundles the device). Clinical posture: MIXED/CONTESTED - ECG has a real 510(k) + study, but the BP warning letter is a public regulatory finding of marketing a diagnostic-grade metric without validation. NOT verified / disputed: BPI accuracy + its 'general wellness' classification (FDA rejects); 'Healthspan/Whoop Age' (proprietary longevity construct, no clinical validation); Strain/Recovery (proprietary, uncleared)., Re-verify 2026-06-03: FDA warning-letter / Blood Pressure Insights (BPI) dispute CONFIRMED-CURRENT: still UNRESOLVED as of late May 2026 (Whoop + FDA in discussions, BPI remains live, no enforcement escalation, no recall). Class action Rowe v. WHOOP No. 3:25-cv-09910 (N.D. Cal., filed Nov 18 2025) still early/unadjudicated. CORRECTION: the $575M Series G (Mar 31 2026, $10.1B valuation) was LED by Collaborative Fund; QIA, Mubadala, Abbott, and Mayo Clinic PARTICIPATED (supersedes the earlier 'QIA/Mubadala led' attribution). Context (reported-only, primary doc not retrieved): an FDA Jan 6 2026 general-wellness guidance update reportedly bears on the BPI 'wellness' argument.

Manufacturer

Whoop

Form Factor

biometric

Lifecycle

commercial

Operational Reality

Audited

Deployments

1

Target Price

$199 to $359 (actual sale price)

  • COMMERCIAL

Description

WHOOP 5.0/MG is a 24/7 health and fitness wearable with 14+ day battery life. Pricing is subscription-based: One plan at $199/year and Peak plan at $239/year, with the device included in the membership. Tracks sleep, strain, recovery, and provides personalized coaching.

Key facts & specs

18 entries
website
https://support.whoop.com/s/article/Unlock-New-with-WHOOP-MG
maturity
commercial
lifecycle
active
manufacturer
Whoop
deployments count
1
Maturity stage
commercial
Specs
Whoop 5.0 + Whoop MG ('Medical Grade'), both May 8 2025 (replaced 4.0); ~14-day battery. Sensors: PPG optical HR/HRV, skin temp, SpO2, respiratory rate. Analytics: Strain, Recovery, Sleep Coach; MG adds ECG + Blood Pressure Insights + Healthspan/'Whoop Age'. AI 'Whoop Coach' (LLM). Founded 2012, Boston (Will Ahmed). SUBSCRIPTION-ONLY: Whoop One $199/yr, Peak $239/yr, Life $359/yr (MG) - no standalone hardware sale.
Battery
14 days
Ip rating
IP68
Weight kg
0.027
Form Factor
biometric (biometric-primary screen-free wrist band; subscription-only; strain/recovery AI)
Fda clearance
Source: https://www.whoop.com/us/en/press-releases/; Status: none; Details: No FDA clearance. Respiratory rate, HRV, SpO2 are wellness metrics. WHOOP MG (medical-grade) announced 2024 but FDA submission status unverified as of 2026.; Audited at: 2026-06-07; Source name: WHOOP; Health claim: Athletic performance optimization. Wellness-only; no diagnostic or disease-management claims verified.; Verification posture: verified
Battery life
~14-day battery
Price
$199/year (One) or $239/year (Peak) — device included with membership
Sensor suite
PPG optical HR/HRV, skin temp, SpO2, respiratory rate; MG adds ECG + Blood Pressure Insights
Valuation
$10.1 billion after $575 million Series G in March 2026
Pricing model
Subscription (device + monthly/yearly service)
Availability
WHOOP.com + Amazon + Best Buy

Availability and pricing

price
$199 to $359 (actual sale price) · as of 2026-06-17
lead time
Not disclosed
sales model
Not disclosed
availability
Shipping now
units in field
Not disclosed
pricing Model
Not disclosed

Safety record

Safety Status
3 incident(s) logged

3 incidents on record (1 serious, 2 moderate). Most recent: Nov 2025.

Risk Metrics
Incidents: 3
Recalls: 0
Latest: Nov 2025
serious: 1
moderate: 2

FAQ

15 entries
What is Whoop (5.0 / MG)?

WHOOP 5.0/MG is a 24/7 health and fitness wearable with 14+ day battery life. Pricing is subscription-based: One plan at $199/year and Peak plan at $239/year, with the device included in the membership. Tracks sleep, strain, recovery, and provides personalized coaching.

How much does Whoop (5.0 / MG) cost?

Whoop (5.0 / MG) is listed at $199 to $359 (annual lease) on the DEPLOY registry. This is an actual sale price on record.

Is Whoop (5.0 / MG) actually deployed in the real world?

Yes. Whoop (5.0 / MG) is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.

Is Whoop (5.0 / MG) autonomous or teleoperated?

Partly. DEPLOY verifies Whoop (5.0 / MG) operating autonomously for Tracks stress and recovery and Tracks sleep. Other capabilities (Tracks heart health and Tracks body temperature) are only demonstrated under teleoperation or remain vendor claims, not independently verified as autonomous.

What are the specs of Whoop (5.0 / MG)?

Whoop (5.0 / MG)'s recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Battery: 14 days; IP rating: IP68; Weight: 0.027 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.

Who makes Whoop (5.0 / MG)?

Whoop (5.0 / MG) is made by Whoop, based in Boston, Massachusetts, USA, founded in 2012.

Where is Whoop (5.0 / MG) deployed?

1 verified deployment of Whoop (5.0 / MG) is on the DEPLOY registry, including at Global.

Can you buy Whoop (5.0 / MG)?

Whoop (5.0 / MG) is available for purchase - a real sale price is on record (see the pricing section for the figure and its source).

Is Whoop (5.0 / MG) FDA cleared?

Whoop (5.0 / MG) has 2 regulatory records on the DEPLOY registry: FDA warning letter, active; FDA warning letter (709755), active. See the Regulatory filings section for each agency source.

What are alternatives to Whoop (5.0 / MG)?

On the DEPLOY registry, comparable biometric robots to Whoop (5.0 / MG) include Blackrock Neuroport Array, BrainQ Non-Invasive BCI, Neko Body Scan, RNS System.

How does Whoop (5.0 / MG) compare to Blackrock Neuroport Array?

Whoop (5.0 / MG) and Blackrock Neuroport Array (Blackrock Neurotech · 5 deployments) are both biometric robots on the DEPLOY registry. Whoop (5.0 / MG) has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.

Is Whoop (5.0 / MG) a top biometric?

On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Whoop (5.0 / MG) ranks in roughly the top 88% of biometric models tracked by the registry.

What is Whoop (5.0 / MG)'s maturity stage?

Whoop (5.0 / MG) is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.

Is Whoop (5.0 / MG) safe?

Whoop (5.0 / MG) has 3 active incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. 3 incidents on record (1 serious, 2 moderate). Most recent: Nov 2025. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.

What is the WHOOP MG blood pressure feature?

WHOOP MG uses heart rate, HRV, and blood flow patterns during sleep to estimate blood pressure each morning. In July 2025, WHOOP received an FDA warning letter for the Blood Pressure Insights (BPI) feature for lacking proper clearance. The feature remains available but is not FDA-cleared.

Deployments

1 entry

Incidents affecting Whoop (5.0 / MG)

3 entries

Sectors & applications

1 entry