da Vinci (and Ion)

[production]

surgical · food-service · 15 deployments in catalog

Field Advisory

Verified (production anchor): Intuitive Surgical (NASDAQ: ISRG; founded 1995, Sunnyvale CA) is the dominant incumbent and the verified gold standard. VERIFIED installed base (SEC 10-Q, 3/31/2026): 11,395 da Vinci systems (+12% YoY), of which 1,464 are da Vinci 5; plus 1,041 Ion systems (+22% YoY). Q1 2026 procedures +17% worldwide; 431 da Vinci placed (232 of them da Vinci 5). da Vinci 5 FDA-cleared Mar 14 2024; Ion FDA-cleared Feb 2019., Axis-extension framing: Surgical robotics is physical AI operating in the MEDICAL regulatory regime. FDA clearance is the verified gating event for maturity. Intuitive clears it across multiple platforms + generations -> production., AI-substance: teleop baseline + shipped analytics AI; autonomy demo-only: da Vinci is master-slave teleoperated. SHIPPED AI: Case Insights (AI analysis of system/kinematics/video for surgeon performance) and machine-vision interface features; Force Feedback is a shipped sensing feature (not autonomy). Autonomous suturing/tissue-lifting via VLMs (Johns Hopkins/Stanford) are RESEARCH demonstrations on da Vinci hardware, NOT shipped. 4,000-mile telesurgery is investigational/in-development., Claimed but NOT verified: '43% less force' is a preclinical/marketing figure, not an outcomes-verified clinical result. The 1,464 da Vinci 5 subfigure is company-reported (corroborated, model-level breakout).

Manufacturer

Intuitive Surgical

Form Factor

surgical

Lifecycle

production

Operational Reality

Teleoperated

Deployments

15

Target Price

$1.8M to $2.5M (analyst estimate)

  • SURGICAL
  • PRODUCTION

Description

Intuitive Surgical (NASDAQ: ISRG; founded 1995, Sunnyvale, California) is the dominant incumbent and verified gold standard of surgical robotics. Its da Vinci platform spans the multi-port X and Xi systems, the SP single-port system, and the fifth-generation da Vinci 5, which the FDA cleared via 510(k) on March 14, 2024 with a headline Force Feedback sensing feature, alongside the Ion endoluminal robotic bronchoscopy system cleared in February 2019. As of its SEC Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March 31, 2026, the verified installed base was 11,395 da Vinci systems, up 12 percent year over year and including 1,464 da Vinci 5 units, plus 1,041 Ion systems, up 22 percent, with worldwide procedures growing about 17 percent. Surgical robotics sits in the registry as a deliberate axis-extension: physical AI operating in the medical regulatory regime, where FDA clearance is the verified gating event for maturity, and Intuitive clears it across multiple platforms and generations, placing it at production maturity. On AI substance, da Vinci is a master-slave teleoperated system with shipped analytics-grade AI such as Case Insights and machine-vision interface features, and Force Feedback is a shipped sensing feature rather than autonomy; autonomous suturing and tissue manipulation via vision-language models are research demonstrations on da Vinci hardware, not shipped features, and the 4,000-mile telesurgery demonstration is investigational. The widely cited 43-percent-less-force figure is preclinical and marketing-sourced rather than an outcomes-verified clinical result.

Key facts & specs

29 entries
website
https://r2surgical.com/blogs/news/how-much-is-a-surgical-robot-2025-edition
maturity
production
lifecycle
active
manufacturer
Intuitive Surgical
deployments count
15
Maturity stage
production
Dof
7
Products
da Vinci multi-port (X / Xi), da Vinci SP single-port, da Vinci 5 (5th-gen, FDA 510(k) Mar 14 2024, Force Feedback), and Ion endoluminal robotic bronchoscopy (FDA Feb 2019).
Height cm
175.3
Weight kg
544
Form Factor
surgical (teleoperated master-slave multi-port + single-port surgical robot; + endoluminal robotic bronchoscopy)
Fda clearance
da Vinci 5 FDA 510(k) cleared March 14, 2024; Ion FDA cleared February 2019
Clearance body
FDA
Installed base
11,395 da Vinci systems as of Q1 2026 (SEC 10-Q, 3/31/2026)
Production target
431 da Vinci placed in Q1 2026 (232 of them da Vinci 5)
Autonomy level
Master-slave teleoperated; shipped analytics AI (Case Insights, machine-vision); Force Feedback is sensing, not autonomy
System price
da Vinci Xi ~$1.5M; da Vinci 5 $1.8–2.5M (Forbes 2019; ACS Bulletin 2026; MedTech Dive analyst est.)
Per-procedure instrument cost
$700–$3,200 per procedure in disposable instruments/accessories; ~$1,900 avg replacement parts per operation; instruments ~$2,300 for a 10-use device (PMC5644490; Forbes 2019; Meditek)
Annual service contract
$100K–$175K per system per year (PMC5644490; r2surgical)
Revenue ( F Y2025)
$10.06B total: Instruments & Accessories $6.02B (60%), Systems $2.47B (24%), Services $1.57B (16%) (10-K, bullfincher/SEC)
Gross margin
Non-GAAP gross margin 69.1% in 2024; guided 65–66.5% for 2025 (Q1 2025 earnings release, SEC); GAAP gross profit $6.64B on $10.06B revenue in 2025
Component: arms
Patient-side cart with 3–4 robotic arms; each arm uses multiple maxon DC motors (RE 25, RE 13 with GP 13 planetary gearheads, RE 35) — 30+ maxon motors per system; ironless rotor, rare-earth magnets for zero cogging (maxon group blog)
Component: vision/camera
3D HD endoscope system; da Vinci 5 has 4x pixel resolution vs Xi, 785nm Firefly fluorescence imaging, tip heater anti-fog; endoscope list price ~$25,000 (Intuitive 2023 price list); camera control units, image synchronizers, high-intensity illuminators
Component: surgeon console
Surgeon master controls with haptic feedback (da Vinci 5 adds Force Feedback); dual master manipulators with maxon motors; 3D stereoscopic viewer; ~150 design innovations in da Vinci 5; 10,000x computing power vs Xi
Component: instruments
EndoWrist disposable instruments (forceps, scissors, needle drivers, scalpels, electrocautery) with wristed joints; 10-use limit per instrument; cannulas $630–683, arm drapes $378–1092, stapler reloads $2,898 (Intuitive 2023 price list)
Key supplier: maxon motors
maxon group (Switzerland) supplies 30+ precision DC motors per system — RE 25, RE 13, RE 35 models with planetary gearheads and magnetic encoders; 10,000+ maxon motors in daily deployment (maxon blog, Intuitive mfg eng mgr quote)
Manufacturing
Vertically integrated at Sunnyvale, CA campus (1050 Kifer Rd); in-house design, assembly, and testing; expanding manufacturing footprint and supply chain network (Intuitive careers, job postings for Sunnyvale supply chain roles)
Procedure volume
3.1M+ da Vinci procedures in 2025 (+18% YoY); 300+ avg procedures per system per year; 20M+ cumulative procedures; 1,721 systems placed in 2025 (Intuitive 2025 annual report)
Razor-razorblade model
60% of revenue from recurring instruments/accessories ($6.02B); systems only 24% ($2.47B); high-margin disposables drive economics — ~$1,900/procedure × 300 procedures/yr = ~$570K annual recurring revenue per installed system

Autonomy: verified vs claimed

Audited Operational Reality

Teleoperated (human-controlled)

Independent audit: evaluates human teleoperation reliance, VR assistance, and vendor autonomy bounds.

Manufacturer Claim
Autonomous robotics system.

Availability and pricing

price
$1.8M to $2.5M (analyst estimate) · as of 2024-03-01
lead time
Not disclosed
sales model
Not disclosed
availability
Not sold (internal use)
units in field
Not disclosed
pricing Model
Not disclosed

Safety record

Safety Status
9 incident(s) logged

47 recalls and 9 incidents on record (2 catastrophic, 4 critical, 39 serious, 9 moderate, 2 minor). Most recent: Jun 2026.

Risk Metrics
Incidents: 9
Recalls: 47
Latest: Jun 2026
minor: 2
serious: 39
critical: 4
moderate: 9
catastrophic: 2

Hardware architecture

2 entries
  • da Vinci SureForm StaplerACTUATOR[Safety Critical]
    (primary safety)

    SureForm stapling instrument

  • da Vinci Instrument ArmACTUATOR[Safety Critical]
    (primary safety)

    Instrument arm

Supply chain

1 entry
  • Harmonic DriveACTUATORS & MOTORS
    supplier

    Harmonic Drive Harmonic Drive strain-wave gearboxes -- EndoWrist instrument wrist joints and robotic arm transmissions

FAQ

15 entries
What is da Vinci (and Ion)?

Intuitive Surgical (NASDAQ: ISRG; founded 1995, Sunnyvale, California) is the dominant incumbent and verified gold standard of surgical robotics. Its da Vinci platform spans the multi-port X and Xi systems, the SP single-port system, and the fifth-generation da Vinci 5, which the FDA cleared via 510(k) on March 14, 2024 with a headline Force Feedback sensing feature, alongside the Ion endoluminal robotic bronchoscopy system cleared in February 2019. As of its SEC Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March 31, 2026, the verified installed base was 11,395 da Vinci systems, up 12 percent year over year and including 1,464 da Vinci 5 units, plus 1,041 Ion systems, up 22 percent, with worldwide procedures growing about 17 percent. Surgical robotics sits in the registry as a deliberate axis-extension: physical AI operating in the medical regulatory regime, where FDA clearance is the verified gating event for maturity, and Intuitive clears it across multiple platforms and generations, placing it at production maturity. On AI substance, da Vinci is a master-slave teleoperated system with shipped analytics-grade AI such as Case Insights and machine-vision interface features, and Force Feedback is a shipped sensing feature rather than autonomy; autonomous suturing and tissue manipulation via vision-language models are research demonstrations on da Vinci hardware, not shipped features, and the 4,000-mile telesurgery demonstration is investigational. The widely cited 43-percent-less-force figure is preclinical and marketing-sourced rather than an outcomes-verified clinical result.

How much does da Vinci (and Ion) cost?

da Vinci (and Ion) is listed at $1,800,000 to $2,500,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is an analyst estimate, not an official price.

Is da Vinci (and Ion) actually deployed in the real world?

Yes. da Vinci (and Ion) is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.

Is da Vinci (and Ion) autonomous or teleoperated?

Not verified as fully autonomous. da Vinci (and Ion)'s capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (Assists surgery), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.

What are the specs of da Vinci (and Ion)?

da Vinci (and Ion)'s recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Degrees of freedom: 7; Height: 175.3 cm; Weight: 544 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.

Who makes da Vinci (and Ion)?

da Vinci (and Ion) is made by Intuitive Surgical, based in Sunnyvale, California, USA, founded in 1995.

Where is da Vinci (and Ion) deployed?

15 verified deployments of da Vinci (and Ion) are on the DEPLOY registry, including at United States (multiple hotel chains), Global (multiple sites), Tampa, Florida, USA.

Can you buy da Vinci (and Ion)?

da Vinci (and Ion) is in commercial deployment and is sold to operators; contact the manufacturer to buy, and see the pricing section for any recorded price.

Is da Vinci (and Ion) FDA cleared?

da Vinci (and Ion) has 10 regulatory records on the DEPLOY registry: FDA recall (Z-1232-2026), recalled; FDA recall (Z-1262-2023), recalled; FDA recall (Z-0340-2023), recalled and 7 more. See the Regulatory filings section for each agency source.

What are alternatives to da Vinci (and Ion)?

On the DEPLOY registry, comparable surgical robots to da Vinci (and Ion) include Edge Multi-Port Surgical Robot, Edison Histotripsy System, Stryker Mako SmartRobotics, Toumai.

How does da Vinci (and Ion) compare to Edge Multi-Port Surgical Robot?

da Vinci (and Ion) and Edge Multi-Port Surgical Robot (Edge Medical Robotics · 14 deployments) are both surgical robots on the DEPLOY registry. da Vinci (and Ion) has 15 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.

Is da Vinci (and Ion) a top surgical?

On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, da Vinci (and Ion) ranks in roughly the top under 1% of surgical models tracked by the registry.

What is da Vinci (and Ion)'s maturity stage?

da Vinci (and Ion) is at the production stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Production stage means high-volume manufacture and commercial-scale deployments are sustained.

Is da Vinci (and Ion) safe?

da Vinci (and Ion) has 56 active incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. 47 recalls and 9 incidents on record (2 catastrophic, 4 critical, 39 serious, 9 moderate, 2 minor). Most recent: Jun 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.

How much does a da Vinci surgical robot cost?

The da Vinci Xi costs approximately $1.5 to $2.5 million. The latest da Vinci 5 ranges from $1.8 to $2.5 million. The entry-level da Vinci X costs $0.8 to $1.8 million. Annual maintenance fees total about 10% of the initial purchase price. The average selling price of a da Vinci Xi is approximately $1.42 million.

Deployments

15 entries

Incidents affecting da Vinci (and Ion)

56 entries

Sectors & applications

1 entry